We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, Upscale, Yet Family Friendly”
Review of West First

West First
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Funky, Upscale, Yet Family Friendly”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We sat upstairs at lunch time today and really enjoyed ourselves. We had a great bird's eye view of the restaurant, patrons, and the street. Being people-watchers, we liked the feeling of being able to see all that was going on around us. The service was good as was the food. One of my friends had a Cosmo and said it was the best ever. My chicken salad sandwich was good. The portions were adequate. Our server was attentive but not annoyingly so. We weren't rushed as we lingered over drinks, solving the problems of the world - or at least our little corner of the world. Would definitely return. I plan to try the pizza next time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    178
    40
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant Just off Main Street!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I live in Hendersonville and finally had a chance to review some restaurants right here. West First has the same owner at Flat Rock Village Bakery (which I'll review as well sometime soon). Very nice selection of Italian fare. Gourmet pizzas are a favorite for many including me. Good, but not extensive selection of beer and wine with some local beer on tap too. Seating available on main level, by the bar, a small upstairs section and a relatively new patio area. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable about the food/beverage pairings. Can get crowded on Friday and Saturday nights during the summer and fall leaf seasons. I do wish they stayed open a bit later. Last time we went there they were getting ready to close up and it wasn't even 9 p.m. yet. However, early closings seem to be common in Hendersonville so get used to it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went to west first for dinner and had a wonderful time service was great the trio app was wonderful and the bread was great . Must go to place!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Dining”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Salad and pizza was different, lite thin crust, and great atmosphere. Service was very good and accomidating.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

west first is a great place for a woodfired pizza and salad. the atmosphere is lively and pleasant. the service was very good and food was served quickly.this is one of the best woodfired pizza's that i have ever eaten

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West First also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to West First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing