We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast, comfortable beds, convenient location”
Review of 1898 Waverly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1898 Waverly Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast, comfortable beds, convenient location”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We really enjoyed it. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. There are many tables in the dining room which we prefer over one large table. We were allowed to choose from a variety of fruits, cereals, eggs, omelets, and their special of the day. One morning the special was cinnamon apple pancakes--very yummy! The next day it was french toast. If we ran out of food, we were offered more.

Upon arrival we were given the opportunity to choose between the room I had originally booked and another larger room. I believe this was due only to the fact that the inn was not very full that weekend. It was a pleasant surprise and very much appreciated.

The inn is located on a busy street, and there is lots of traffic noise, however, we were not bothered by it. Foam ear plugs were supplied for those who might feel this is bothersome. Allso, we were unable to hear other guests from our room.

Downtown shopping was only a couple of blocks from the inn. We walked there one afternoon and drove another. It was difficult to find parking, so I suggest walking if possible. It was a nice walk with plenty of crosswalks along the way.

The inn supplied free softdrinks, cookies, and cake. This was great during the late evening when we wanted a snack.

The staff and innkeepers were extemely nice and always asked if there was anything we needed.

If we are ever in this area again, we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLT93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    61
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
231
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

The Waverly Inn is a wonderful place to stay. It is a comfortable home away from home. Everything is designed to make the traveler feel welcome. The rooms are beautifully appointed. The breakfast is simply incredible - absolutely delicious. The evening social hour offers a nice opportunity to get acquainted with owners and guests. Yummy snacks are available 24/7. The Waverly Inn is my all time favorite bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pianist88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples FL
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We were greeted by Diane who couldn't have been more welcoming. The inn and our room had everything we needed; they thought of every detail. Nice size real glass glasses for drinks, thick absorbent, fluffy towels, fabulous mattress gave us a great night's sleep. We walked to dinner which was a plus. Our room was on the main street but all was very quiet. Pretty breakfast dining room, friendly service and good - even healthy! - food choices.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyNaplesFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

This inn provided a wonderfully relaxing get-away. The service was excellent with personal touch. The wine and cheese evening social and other snacks available at all times were nice. Breakfast was delicious, and the servers were very attentive. Our room as quaint and comfortable, with a very comfortable mattress. The large porches on both the first and second story provided a great place to sit and relax. It was a very short walk to downtown Hendersonville, with a great selection of restaurants. Hiking at Dupont State Forest was a great side trip, and the innkeeper gave great information about this spot. We would definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The Waverly Inn is a very comfortable place to get away from it all. The rooms are beautiful. The innkeepers are gracious and the social hour is fun. Make sure to ask for John's special omlet for breakfast. Not to be missed.

I will return time and again!!

Karen
Atlanta

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I have travelled on business to Hendersonville several times in the past 18 months and was introduced to the Waverly Inn by a business associate. It is truly a wonderful place to stay when on business because of the warm and friendly atmosphere that the Waverly provides. The family that operates the inn are very kind and hospitable. I always feel like I am one of the "family" as do all of the other guests that I have met on my trips to the Waverly Inn. I would highly recommend this inn as a destination point in Western North Carolina where it feels like home, only better!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCarolinaPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter SC
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We love the Waverly. We are repeat customers and alway enjoy our stay there. The breakfast is divine, the staff are friendly, helpful and so interesting. It's a great place for a romantic getaway.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nelliebell9093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
740 reviews
2.2 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
86 reviews
3.0 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
441 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
238 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1898 Waverly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1898 Waverly Inn

Property: 1898 Waverly Inn
Address: 783 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28792-5079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1898 Waverly Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to 1898 Waverly Inn where personal service sets us apart. Enjoy a full breakfast, cooked to order, evening tasting hour with light hors d'oeuvres, complimentary snacks, beverages and baked goods and help planning everything from hiking to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 1898 Waverly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Waverly Hotel Hendersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing