We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1898 Waverly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1898 Waverly Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family recently had a reunion in Hendersonville to celebrate 2 birthdays--an 88 year old and a 1 year old. Seven of us stayed at the Waverly Inn. The innkeepers do everything that you would hope for, and they do it very well. The accommodations are quite comfortable, the food is wonderful, and the owners are thoughtful. From my first contact with them over the phone, their responses to emails, and their help in person they are intent on meeting the needs of their guests. We look forward to enjoying their hospitality again.

Room Tip: Communicate your needs. They will help you with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maskgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    59
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
225
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Breakfast was WONDERFUL! I love the peach preserves! Everything was very clean and very comfortable. I love the deep, tub, too. I want one for my own house. There is a spa right there in the Inn. And it is walking distance from everywhere. The Inn is part of the vacation, not just a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank design42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolilna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

It's like stepping back in time when you arrive at the Waverly Inn! The wrap around porch with old timey rockers as well as softer seating seem to invite you to sit and stay awhile. You will certainly want to once you experience the exemplary Southern Hospitality of the owners and their appetizing food and drink offerings during the afternoon social time on the porch as well as the delectable homemade treats available in the dining room. Our room was very clean and comfortable with several antique pieces. I couldn't resist the old claw-footed tub with all the necessities for a bubble bath..even a rubber duckie! The breakfast was abundant and terrific. I highly recommend the Waverly Inn!

Room Tip: We liked our Silver Bell room on the second floor. We were not bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crazycroatian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I along with friends made our second visit to Waverly Inn to relax and enjoy the charming town of Hendersonville. The fact that it was our second visit says it all since we have never stayed at the same B&B twice. Waverly Inn is definitely the exception! The Inn has clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated rooms. The porches are the perfect spot for gathering with friends to enjoy coffee and a delicious dessert that is always available to guests from the dining area. Of course, the parlor or the porches are also the perfect spot to meet with fellow guests while enjoying the daily afternoon wine/lemonade and cheese reception. The breakfast is exceptional with many choices so that even the pickiest eater leaves the table happy. All of these amenities make this an outstanding B&B, but the most outstanding feature of this B&B is the owners and staff. Friendliness is an understatement. Genuine smiles and prompt attention to any question or request is the norm. For us, there will definitely be a third visit to Waverly Inn.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are convenient to the second floor porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TravelingGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Wow and Wow this place was wonderful. The best B&B I have ever been in. The details are stunning and the place has so much charm. The breakfasts were stunning. I was sorry to leave. The staff and owners are what your truly expect when it comes to Southern Hospitality. I will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms are different and unique none will disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk,CT
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

true southern charm and hospitality. Loved breakfast, evening social hour. The room is relatively small, but had all essentials , was very clean and cozy. I truly enjoyed peaceful and relaxing evenings in a rocking chair on a porch. the staff is wonderful. highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalliask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were very pleased with the accommodations. The hosts and breakfast crew were very nice, the house is charming, parking was good so overall it made for a relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast was delicious even though we missed out on the signature dish of French toast - that was disappointing. Wine and cheese on the front porch late in the afternoon was very nice and it gave everyone an opportunity to visit with others and discuss where to eat, places to visit, etc. We stayed in the Hepatica Americana room on the third floor. It was nicely done and comfortable but lacked much space to open a suitcase without it being in the way. The bathroom in this particular room is tiny and manipulating the shower curtain around the claw foot tub was challenging. If you're looking for a more spacious room, choose one of the others. The third floor was also a challenge after all the walking we did during the day! The location couldn't have been nicer...a block or two off the main street where all the shops and restaurants are located...all within walking distance. I personally loved rocking on the front porch and watching the birds at their giant feeders. My only suggestion . . .someone needs to wipe the chair railing and baseboards in the bathroom and do a better job of dusting. Everything that is important to me was clean (bed, tub, toilet, floors) but this would have made it that much better. My husband and I would highly recommend this B&B and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front face a busy street. We couldn't hear traffic over the air conditioner but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
3.1 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
5.6 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
#7 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hendersonville Inn
BEST WESTERN Hendersonville Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1898 Waverly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1898 Waverly Inn

Property: 1898 Waverly Inn
Address: 783 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28792-5079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 1898 Waverly Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to 1898 Waverly Inn where personal service sets us apart. Enjoy a full breakfast, cooked to order, evening tasting hour with light hors d'oeuvres, complimentary snacks, beverages and baked goods and help planning everything from hiking to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1898 Waverly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Waverly Hotel Hendersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing