We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay”
Review of 1898 Waverly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1898 Waverly Inn
Ranked #4 of 14 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The website indicates a beautiful, quaint inn. The reality is somewhat different. Our rooms were in serious need of a good cleaning in the areas which are not immediately accessible or visible. One of our rooms was infested with cockroaches which thankfully we did not discover until the last morning, otherwise we would have been forced to move elsewhere. Add to this the loud traffic noise which started at about 5.00am (the owners are obviously aware of this as ear plugs are provided in the rooms), and this is one place that i would not recommend. The only good point was the hospitality of the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We were devastated to find your review as we had not heard any of this during your stay. If we had known that you were having problems with the street noise we would have moved you to rooms closer to the back of the house where it is quieter. Part of the convenience of being located on the Main Street is traffic. I have addressed the cleaning issues with the housekeeping staff and we will make sure that those hard to reach places are cleaned more often. We did recently have some issues with stink bugs (most everyone in this area has - they have apparently flown into this area en mass!) but we have worked hard to eradicate the problem. I have never seen a cockroach in this building. Again, I wish you would have brought the issue to our attention when you were here so that we could have tried to correct the problem for you. We are glad that you enjoyed the hospitality of the owners and staff and we really hope that you will give us another chance (I have made a note to locate you in a quieter part of the house.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 401 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

When we got to the Inn, the owner gave us a larger room for the same price of the smaller one on the first floor. Across from our room was the dining room and it was very large with at least 12 tables seating 4 at each table.
The food was excellent. You filled out the menu and that included a special entree for the day and a fruit for the day. They also offered most any breakfast meat and breakfast egg you would want and had pancakes as many days a speciality. They snacks available and from 5-6pm had cocktail hour in the front of the house with wine, lemondade and snacks.
They had snacks in the dining room which could be had at any time. They had brochures of everything to do around the area. Very nice people running the place and Diane told me she had had the B & B for 25 years.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaSti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to upgrade your room when you arrived. I think you described our breakfast, snacks, and evening tasting hour wonderfully! Thanks for passing on your thoughts on our inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here and would return in a heartbeat. My trip was to the area for business and the comfort of the Waverly almost makes travel worth it! The hospitality is outstanding and they repeatedly say ' this is your home' and they make you feel that way. The rooms are lovely. While the accommodations are not 5 star, the house has great character, the place is very homey and comfortable and the breakfast is to die for! Highly recommend if traveling to the area.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad that we can make your business trip a little more enjoyable by providing you with comfortable accommodations and good food! We certainly hope to see you back again for business or pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are so excited to have found this jewel. The quality of the facility and it's convenient location within easy walking distance of the historic Hendersonville shopping area makes it a great place to stay. But what makes the experience truly exceptional are the owners and staff and their wonderful cuisine, attention to detail, and exceptional service. We have stayed here twice and will return regularly.
Jim & Rose L. from Alpharetta

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Jim & Rose, Thank you for your kind words. We agree that the access to Historic Downtown Hendersonville is just wonderful. We love being a part of this great town with all there is to see and do here. We are glad you found us and we await your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the 1898 Waverly Inn Spring, Summer, and Fall. First used it as a base for exploring nearby Jackson Park for a guided birding adventure. The Park is short drive away and you could even walk or bike to it. Great spot for spring and fall migration, abundant wildflowers, and local birders to help with identification. We have stayed in several different rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors. I like the rooms with clawfoot bathtub/shower combination best. Linens are delightful and each guest room has a different decor. A neat thing they do is leave room doors open until guests check-in so fun to get a peek for next visit choice. The Innkeepers put on a nice wine/cheese reception each afternoon and guests enjoy conversations about where they have been or are going. Breakfast is full of ample, generous choices. There is plenty of parking available and the location of the Inn can't be beat for seeing the area and walking to evening or lunch dining. Even if chilly or drizzle you can zip in/out of shops or under awnings to get to a good restaurant easily. If you enjoy nature the Dupont Forest and Chimney Rock are a short drive away and shopping is in walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for combo tub/shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

You have discovered what I have been trying to tell people for years ~ this area is great for Nature Lovers! Not only do we have a couple of great county parks nearby (Jackson Park is the closest) State Parks; DuPont State Forest (several beautiful waterfalls) and Chimney Rock Park (views from the chimney are breath taking), as you mentioned, but we also have Pisgah National Forest, the Blue Ridge Parkway, and the North Carolina Arboretum all within about a half hour drive. This really is a Nature Lover's Paradise. Thanks for helping to point that out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This B&B was fantastic. It is within walking distance of downtown shops and restaurants. The best feature is the great friendly staff. We had a great time at their evening snack service on the wide front porch! Many of their guests had been visiting there for a number of years. Having food allergies, I was glad to see they had gluten free options at breakfast. I would highly recommend you try it out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redsox2004champs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Although we have had gluten free options on the menu for years, the recent addition of gluten free bread and turkey bacon have been well received by our guests. We are happy to be able to offer these and other healthy breakfast options. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have been arriving at the Waverly for weekend visits for about 10 years now and it only gets better each time we visit. Diane, John, and Darla are the ultimate hosts. We generally escape from Hotlanta in the summer for a little cool air in Hendersonville, but we have also been in December for birthday celebrations. This year we came for "leaf watching" and Darla's apple and chocolate cake and John's fabulous breakfasts! Yum. The Inn is lovingly cared for by it's owners and so we try differenet rooms each time we come. We highly recommend this inn and a fun visit to Hendersonville and Flat Rock - any time of the year!

Room Tip: unless you really like to hike up stairs - we recommend rooms on the second floor toward the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4innkeepers, Manager at 1898 Waverly Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are very thankful for our returning guests! You made a good suggestion for those not wanting to have to walk a lot of stairs to stay on the lower floors, pointing out that there is no elevator. Please know that we are happy to assist with luggage though no matter what floor you are on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
3 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
808 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Hendersonville SE - Flat Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
106 reviews
2.2 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Henderson
The Henderson
#3 of 14 in Hendersonville
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1898 Waverly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1898 Waverly Inn

Address: 783 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28792-5079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range: $151 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1898 Waverly Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to 1898 Waverly Inn where personal service sets us apart. Enjoy a full breakfast, cooked to order, evening tasting hour with light hors d'oeuvres, complimentary snacks, beverages and baked goods and help planning everything from hiking to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your 1898 Waverly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Waverly Hotel Hendersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing