We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 words - stay here”
Review of 1898 Waverly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
1898 Waverly Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just returned home, and wish we were still there. It is a lovely Victorian home (right up my alley), and the people, food, and attention to detail make it wonderful!
If you have never tried a B&B try this one. You'll be hooked

Room Tip: Towards the back of the house it is more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 383 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2011

My husband and I enjoy frequenting B&Bs when we travel and our weekend stay at the Waverly Inn was one of the best we have experienced! The owners of this Inn do everything right and clearly understand how to make guests feel right at home. From the made-to-order breakfast, to the wine and cheese hour in the parlor and my personal favorite-the 24 hour access to Darla's amazing baked goods and coffee/tea bar really helped make our stay special. We stayed in the Mountain Magnolia Suite on the 3rd floor and enjoyed many cozy evenings and naps nestled in that fabulous bed! The Inn has 2 levels of porches- we gravitated towards the 2nd floor for wine sipping and cigar smoking (and more napping!). The Inn is located a few blocks away from the quaint downtown area. We enjoyed FABULOUS sushi at Umi, pub fare at Hannah Flannigans and Italian at MezzaLuna. On Sunday we grabbed delicious handmade sandwiches from Mountain Deli for a picnic at the Carl Sandburg home. My only advice for visiting Hendersonville is to scope out what restaurants are open Sat-Sundays. We were surprised to find only a few open after 9pm on Saturday and many closed on Sunday. In a way, it made our experience in Hendersonville that much more special- because it wasn't as crowded as say, Asheville. The store owners and locals extremely friendly and are glad to have you there! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cellospice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

we had not been in 15 years due to children and family
It was just like coming home
Diane and John still run the place and we always enjoy meeting the other guest....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was our second stay at this quaint B&B. This visit we stayed on the first floor in the American Holly room. Our queen size bed was very comfortable, the room is lovely with high ceilings, original painted woodwork and an attached bath complete with tub (rubber ducky included). We had a room air conditioner that was quite adequate during the hot afternoons. There's a closet with bathrobes and a little step-stool for the high four-poster bed.

The hosts, John, Diane and Darla are very friendly. Debbie is a charmer -- a very pleasant addition to the Waverly team The breakfasts are delicious -- John is a fine breakfast chef! They provide several choices: hot cereal, cold cereal, eggs to order, omelets, bacon, sausage, fruit, and their specials (we loved the banana and pecan pancakes). The jams are unusual and tasty. We LOVED the whole wheat toast...I would call it a multigrain whole wheat. YUM!
There is 24-hour access to soft drinks, a wide assortment of teas, coffees and there's usually a plate of freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and a wonderful cake.
Try to be back to the Inn by 5 p.m. -- we met on the rocking chair porch for a glass or wine or lemondade, crackers, cheese, grapes and wonderfuly conversation during the social hour.
You will love the owners, the accommodations and the special features that separate them from the norm. Oh, and you can walk into town...leave the car parked. We have tried many restaurants and also walked to the Flat Rock Playhouse's new downtown location. A very, very pleasant visit.

Room Tip: check their website, groupon, social living.com, or ask about their corporate rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RitaShar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our children learned about this B&B on Living Social and purchased the special package as a 25th anniversary gift for my husband and me. I was so surprised when I first entered the room and found fresh flowers, cookies and a bottle of wine waiting for us. We had the best time staying here and meeting all of the owners. The breakfast was great and the evening snack and social hour on the front porch was fun for both of us. The location of the B&B is just a couple of minutes from the historic downtown...we enjoyed daily walks to visit the shops and restaurants. We will definitely find a reason to come back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lacs1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We got a great deal on the Waverly Inn through one of the online travel coupons that was going around. It included two nights at the inn, a bottle of wine, a gift certificate to a local restaurant and, of course, breakfast both mornings.
The inn itself is lovely and welcoming. There is an afternoon social hour with refreshments and rocking chairs. Every floor has a little reading nook or places to get out of your room if you like. They even have things like bug spray out on the porch available for guests.
The rooms are comfortable and have air conditioning units and small flat screen tvs with cable. Our room on the third floor (Dogwood) came with a clawfoot bathtub complete with bath salts and even a rubber duckie. I really enjoyed this attention to detail.
Breakfast was delicious and fast - and you got to order whatever you liked. There was a daily special, but you could have almost anything else you can think of.
The home is close to downtown, where the shops are lovely, and it is a short drive to Asheville.
We are happy that we were able to stay here with the reduced price - I don't know if we could have afforded to stay here at rack rate - but we're delighted that we got the experience, and will look for other deals in the future.

Room Tip: If I stayed again, I might opt for a room on the second floor to take advantage of the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a charming place that looks like an old home. Make sure you have time to enjoy the rocking chair porches, the puzzles in the study and the great breakfast served in the morning. We found our room to be clean, well air conditioned and all the towels, soap and little extras we needed. We cannot wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TardyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
783 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
487 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.2 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1898 Waverly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1898 Waverly Inn

Address: 783 N Main St, Hendersonville, NC 28792-5079
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range: $163 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1898 Waverly Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to 1898 Waverly Inn where personal service sets us apart. Enjoy a full breakfast, cooked to order, evening tasting hour with light hors d'oeuvres, complimentary snacks, beverages and baked goods and help planning everything from hiking to dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your 1898 Waverly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Waverly Hotel Hendersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing