We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melange Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 15 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Spartanburg
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Last Minute Weekend”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We wanted to give our daughter a special weekend trip to commemorate her graduation with a masters degree. It was a last minute deal, but Lale and Mahmet, our gracious hosts, took it in stride and set us up in the Rose Suite. The room, house, and gardens were immaculate! Breakfast was excellent! No complaints here - we'll return to this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    23
    0
    5
    1
See reviews for
83
262
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband surprised me with a wonderful two night stay in the Rose Suite of this lovely B and B. I've stayed in other B&Bs before but never one so magical. Lale and Mahmet were wonderful hosts and even catered to our 9 month old daughter for breakfasts and even during our wonderful dinner. They treated us like family and made us feel so welcome. My daughter fell in love with Lale and both Lale and Mahmet went out of their way to make sure she had a fantastic stay. If you have ever gone on vacation with a young child you know how important that is. The food was amazing, the scenery and gardens were spectacular, the service was top notch. This is our new home away from home and we are already planning to go back this year.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twobrooksfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Melange B&B in Hendersonville, NC was above and beyond perfect! Mehmet and Lale were amazing hosts to us and our 9mo old daughter. They even went out of their way to prepare special breakfasts for her each morning. The house and grounds were spectacular. We stayed in the Rose Suite and it was breath taking. There wasn't a detail out of place. Our 5 course dinner was worthy of a standing ovation! We will definitely be returning every year to revisit the Melange. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooks803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Melange Bed & Breakfast in Hendersonville exceeded our expectations, and we were so glad to have found such wonderful hosts. The house was built a century or so ago with elegance in mind, and the owners have furnished it to bring out the best in the property.

The gardens and the lovely setting are perfect. Our bedroom had its own porch overlooking the gardens. The mattresses have memory foam which made for a very comfortable sleep; now I'm going to buy one for the bed at home! I sleep with a CPAP breather, and the hosts made me feel at home when they installed for me an extension cord under the bed (which was too big for me to move!). The modern European-style shower stall was a real blast! Everything was clean, just as I would want. Parking was very convenient.



Breakfast was always well-presented and imaginative. Fruit was offered every morning, in addition to a cooked breakfast. The dining area had views of the gardens, where we met other guests who had been returning for years. 

The owners always made my wife and me feel at home. They chatted over a glass of wine before we went out to dinner, and suggested local restaurants. They know the area well, and recommended great scenic drives through the mountains to visit waterfalls and other sights.



My next visit to Hendersonville and Asheville will include a stay at the Melange.

Room Tip: Two rooms have their own porches overlooking the gardens, one of which has the cool Euro-shower. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moovaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Outstanding is the best word for this beautiful Bed and Breakfast and its owners! We have used Melange for our company's day long Long Range Planning Meeting for the past three years. In addition, we always house any out of town guests at the Melange because we know they will have the best accomodations in our area and receive the finest care by Lale and Mehmet. The food is elegant, unique and excellent! The home and grounds are beautiful, clean and well maintained. There is obvious attention to every detail. I highly recommend Melange to anyone wanting to experience the best of the best! K. Curtis

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Another wonderful stay at Mélange! This was our third visit—we couldn’t rank the stays, as the experience there is uniformly superb. But we can rank Mélange against other B&B’s where we’ve stayed around the country and in Europe. In terms of the overall experience, which is made up of the property, the ambiance, the rooms, the food, and the hosts, Mélange is in a class by itself. It always feels like we are coming home to friends—so relaxing. And that food—the breakfasts are extraordinary! This visit was for our anniversary, so we indulged (again) in their gourmet Dinner For Two. Every course was a delight—truly a multi-cultural “mélange” of flavors. A stay at Mélange is an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesMoinesFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had the pleasure of being a guest at this wonderful B&B. The room was elegant and beautiful and the food was delightful. The owners are a wonderful couple who really know how to make you feel welcomed and well served. I highly recommend you stay at the Melange and you'll never want to leave.

Bill G.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
3.2 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
759 reviews
2.3 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
465 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 5 in Flat Rock
324 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melange Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melange Bed and Breakfast

Property: Melange Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1230 5th Ave W, Hendersonville, NC 28739-4112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melange Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel of a bed and breakfast with European flair, the Melange is a romantic getaway in a historic mansion in Hendersonville. The historic mansion, with its classic gardens and inviting main rooms, provides the perfect ambiance for intimate vacations, private dining, celebrations and romantic weddings, alike. The Melange is secluded, private and within walking distance to Downtown Hendersonville and convenient to Asheville, the Biltmore Estate, Blue Ridge Parkway, Chimney Rock, Flat Rock Playhouse and Dupont State Forest. Guests enjoy a gourmet breakfast and upscale amenities in six, beautifully appointed guest rooms (4-king size rooms and 2-suites, each with 2 bedrooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Melange Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melange Hotel Hendersonville
Melange b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing