We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise”
Review of Black Rose Pub

Black Rose Pub
Ranked #29 of 199 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Price range: $8 - $13
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've eaten at the Black Rose twice and have found the food to be quite good, particularly for a pub. The ingredients are highly quality and fresh. The grouper sandwich was particularly good. Salad portions are huge.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loves2rite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    125
    30
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Long story”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We were leaving Asheville to go back to Charleston and were going to stop and eat. I had always wanted to see a little of Hendersonville, so we used TA to find someone where to eat there on the way home. We wanted pizza. Well, we parked in front of the place and I proceed to lead my wife and I into the wrong door, right into the Black Rose. By the time we didn't see pizza on the menu, we already had drinks, etc, so we stayed. We ordered food. They bring my wife the wrong order. She is usually never angry but I could see steam leaving her ears. She said she woukd eat what he brought. 5 minutes laters she says she loved it and was glad he messed it up. Mine was great as well. It was New Years night and I was glad to find a couple places open. Tip of the hat to Hendersonville and the Black Rose. It was a cool looking downtown and has a nice looking collection of places to eat and drink.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, VA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Beer! Great Price! Lots of fun!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a really cool place... good atmosphere, good beer selection, interesting menu. Twice in one week for me!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seekinglocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Must have been a bad day in the kitchen”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We did not have a very good experience at the Black Rose. Based on the other reviews, we were expecting great food and service. We must have hit it during a really bad day in the kitchen. We waited over 45 minutes for a burger and fries, while we watched other diners who arrived after us receive their entrees. We had to question our waitress twice before finally receiving our lunch. We also saw 5 other diners' send their entrees back to the kitchen. And 2 other diners were comp'd part of their meals. There are so many other restaurants in the area to try that we won't be going back to the Black Rose.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyBizTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert M, Manager at Black Rose Pub, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are very sorry to have performed so poorly during your visit. Know that we are always accountable to our guests and we will bend over backwards to fix any problem before you make it out the door. We will use this review as a coaching tool and strive to continuously improve in order to regain and keep your valued business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Irish Cuisine!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We live four hours from this amazing pub. When we were headed home from our trip, we made SURE that our route took us through Hendersonville just so we could eat here. Our first visit was in March 2012. This second visit did not disappoint.

The ambiance is fitting for the restaurant. We went on a Sunday afternoon so it was a bit busier than the weekday lunch. It's a bit crowded, but it didn't bother us at all. Even with the crowd, the chefs were speedy at preparing hot food that is absolutely AUTHENTIC.

I've had the lamb stew and the Irish breakfast. My husband loves the bangers and mash, and the first time he had the rib eye. Great food, great service.

We can hardly wait to go back again...too bad we live four hours east!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Rose Pub also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Black Rose Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing