We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper Napkins and Bright Lights!”
Review of Mrs G and Me - CLOSED

Mrs G and Me
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Reviewed January 2, 2013

First impressions mean a lot; and the first things you encounter here are folded paper napkins and a dining room that is far too bright. We asked about the napkins and yes, those are standard issue. Regarding the lighting, our waitress told us they have to keep it brightly lit because "there are a lot of old people" that eat there. Both factors gave me second thoughts about staying, but we did anyway. Upon ordering, we were told they were out of their two signature items, the chicken and dumplings and the Mac and cheese. Unacceptable at 6:30 on a Friday night, and at that point we would have left except we already ordered drinks. When bread was brought out, we were given square saucers as bread plates! Really? They don't think their customers know the difference? How insulting. Our entrees were above average, but not exceptional. Overall, there were too many things that detracted from our dining experience. I doubt we will ever go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BenNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hville_girl, Owner at Mrs G and Me, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

First of all, let me say a big THANK YOU for taking the time to write your comments about our restaurant. We have spoken about your comments at length with all the staff at the restaurant.

Yes, we have 'paper' napkins. They are however, not your typical paper napkins. They are a 'linen-like' napkin that most restaurants in this area use. We had cloth napkins when we first opened, but quickly found out that we could not afford them and remain open. Very expensive for laundering. We have tried to make the best choice possible.

Our lights? They may be bright to some and not very bright for others. Lighting is a matter of opinion.

I have spoken with our servers regarding your comment about our being out of Chicken 'n Dumplings. We replaced Chicken 'n Dumplings with Chicken Pot Pie for the winter. We weren't 'out' of Chicken 'n Dumplings. I appreciate your comments and the servers are now changing the way they speak to our customers. I did not realize this was an issue, but now I do. Thank you for that.

We use small square plates for bread service. Always have.

I am glad your entrees were 'above average'. We do pride ourselves on the quality of food we serve.

Please, please come back to see us the next time you are in town. We really do welcome your comments and just want to provide great food. Albeit with 'bright' lights and 'paper' napkins!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Mrs G and Me
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 90 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

In the last year, we have eaten here 3-4 times, always with friends/couples (& we are not local). I have heard no one in our party ever dislike the menu item chosen. Personally I can say that the meatloaf sandwich, the Reuben, & the turkey-dressing-cranberry sandwich are amazing. It is hard to move on to another selection each time I go into Mrs G & me... but how else are ya gonna explore the menu? The walls are decorated with intricately painted murals... seascape on one side & European city street scene (that makes you feel like you are sitting in the MIDDLE of the intersection)! Great place to go if attending Flat Rock's Downtown (Hendersonville) Playhouse... discount given with ticket stub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grantg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a lovely meal for four, the choices were widespread~the vegetarian meatloaf, liver & onions and curry chicken & rice. Several of us started with a really nice mushroom soup which was very tasty. The liver and onions was very well received as there are few opportunities for this dish at home. The chicken curry was extra spicy as requested and had great flavor. The meatloaf was deemed a tad bland. We had the appropriate serving size and appreciated the choice between small and large serving. It was a week night and lovely to see a number of residents supporting local dining. Our waiter was very attentative and we had a really enjoyable evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wncgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Mrs. G has consistently good food. Sunday brunch can be crowded so it is helpful to make a reservation.

Thank Marth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have visited Mrs G many times--both lunch and dinner--and are never disappointed. Agreed--the layout is standard, but the tables in the window locations as well as the murals and attractive bar certainly make the most of what it is--an older building with a history.

Very impressive is the menu which is so extensive that you fear quality may be compromised, but it isn't. A page describing preparation of gluten free and vegetarian fare is also included--which saves a lot of waitstaff interrogation. If you can't find something on the menu that whets your appetite, it's not because the selection was too limited

For diners who are not hearty eaters, there are smaller portion options, and prices for everything are very reasonable. And as others have noted, despite the casual atmosphere, guests are treated like royalty by efficient, knowledgeable, accommodating and friendly waitstaff who act as if they really enjoy their work and are glad you came.

So many dishes are so tasty that it is hard to select a favorite, but where Mrs. G truly rises above its competitors is in its soups and salad dressings which are imaginative and totally delicious. Last week I tried the blueberry vinaigrette which is NOT "yo mama's" blueberry syrup tarted up with balsamic vinegar and oil. This is the real deal--with fresh blueberries ground just short of puree and blended with ? to create a thick, tangy, flavorable complement to any salad. I could have happily put it on my salmon cake (also superb) and even ice cream-- it was that good. Others we have tried are equally impressive. Soups are beautifully garnished and presented --always a taste pleasure.

When you are wondering, "Where shall we go for lunch or dinner?" why not make Mrs. G and Me Mrs. G. and you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank belwen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs G and Me also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing