We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient with accommodating hosts!”
Review of Inn on Church

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on Church
Ranked #4 of 15 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient with accommodating hosts!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My beau and I stayed at this lovely old gem a block from the main street in Hendersonville. We loved the antiques and architecture including the wood floors that are creaky and uneven as you would expect in a lovely old property. Joe and Stephanie are very gracious hosts and made our larger group feel right at home. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. Dinner was scrumptious as was our breakfast. We shall return!

Room Tip: Joe suggested that next time we stay on the third floor (there is no elevator however) if we wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    27
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
47
118
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed one night with a group of folks from our car club - Peachtree Miata Club .
Outstanding experience ! The Inn is very quaint, the room was beautiful, the food was
surprisingly delicious, and the owners were very warm hosts. Loved relaxing on
the front porch . Will definitely be coming back .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFG30189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

While traveling in the NC mountains with relatives we chose Inn on Church as an overnight stay as it was recommended on Trip Advisor. (We always check Trip Advisor for hotel recommendations whenever we travel). We loved this place! This is a beautifully restored Historical building, however, the owners say it is still in process. The owners greeted us with friendly smiles and an offer to help with our luggage. We were very interested in the history of the Inn and they kindly took time to talk with us. We ate dinner that night at the Inn and it was OUTSTANDING! We stayed on the third floor in the rooms Fazio and Giuliani. Very nicely appointed with antiques and our mattress had a nice topper on it. Yes, there is a window A/C unit, however, remember this is a building on the National Historic Registry, The unit did not deter us from enjoying our time here, we enjoyed the cool air it offered.
The following morning, we had a DELICIOUS breakfast served by smiling, happy faces! We loved the large front porch with rockers, we loved the fact that downtown shopping was only 1 block away from this charming Inn, and we loved the FOOD! We would recommend a stay here and when you do, slow down, relax and enjoy this beautiful old Inn.

Room Tip: There is no elevator as this is a Historical Inn. There is a beautiful wide staircase leading to yo...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Inn is working hard to be "green". They recycle whenever possible. Growing fresh vegetables/herbs from their own garden to be used by chefs in their prepared dishes.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HwyTraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I loved our stay at the Inn on Church! The owners, Joe and Stephanie, were so hospitable and provided a wonderful B & B experience.

The inn, on the National Historic Registry, retains the charm and ambiance of a bygone era, while providing modern comforts. Our room was beautifully appointed with antiques and accessories appropriate for a 100 year old home; and while there, we got a tour of the inn along with interesting anecdotes about the unusual doors on each of the rooms.

Breakfast was outstanding! We had two choices each morning - both being hot and delicious! Of all the B & B's I've stayed in, the Inn on Church has provided the best breakfast. Dinner in the restaurant was delicious, and the atmosphere was quiet and elegant. The menu provides a nice selection for all palates, along with an extensive wine list. The chef is excellent! We had the crab cakes - best ever!

The wrap-around porch provided a place to relax in the rocking chairs, sip a glass of wine, read a book, and enjoy the day. There is no elevator or central air in the inn, but this did not bother us, as it is typical of an historic home. We had a window air conditioner, and were completely comfortable in our room.

Hendersonville has a bustling downtown, with lots of cute shops and restaurants! The Inn on Church is only ONE block from downtown. It was nice to be able to walk to the downtown area as the parking is very limited on Main Street.

Joe and Stephanie, we can't wait for our next visit! Thank you for making us feel at home in your home.

Room Tip: We stayed on the alley side, second floor. Our room was quiet, even though we were directly in fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, NC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed a single night here with dinner and breakfast. Wonderful large B&B. No, the exterior doesn't fit the stereotypical gingerbread exterior of B&B's. But we really appreciated the beautiful interior and our room was great. Also appreciated being just one block away from the newly renovated downtown H'ville shopping district. Spent part of a lazy summer afternoon reading on the covered front porch in rocking chairs.

Joe secured us two tix for nearby (10 minutes) Flat Rock Playhouse production of Evita. Had dinner at the Inn also. Variety of dinner selections from steak to seafood and southern specialties, as well as fine wine. Not as much variety of breakfast options, but that is normal for a B&B, no?

Regarding earlier reviews complaining about gaps around some doors, well it is a 104 year old hotel, and those little imperfections are part of the character of such an establishment. We slept in the Lucille room and, though the bed was a little firmer than our preferences, we slept soundly and didn't hear a noise all night.

We are occasional B&B lodgers and we would stay again at the Inn on Church.

Room Tip: You have 21 rooms on three floors to choose from. Stairs only. Want peace and quiet and willing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I'm among those with a wedding party recently, with the wedding itself at a nearby campground. I'm the father of the groom, in fact, and my wife and I as well as the bride's parents and the bride and groom themselves, cared a lot about finding a place, after lots of research, that would be a pleasure for friends and relatives. I was delighted with this B&B, would return in a heartbeat, and would recommend it to others. There were some imperfections. For example, the choices at breakfast were too limited and not readily accommodating people with dietary requirements or even just strong preferences. I think more flexibility should be built-in and not only emerging with special requests. On the other hand, before I arrived, my wife and my sister and her partner had dinner one evening in the Inn's restaurant that they haven't stopped raving about. I trust the owners to work on whatever is flawed because they are very dedicated and caring. Overall, I felt the whole was greater than the sum of its parts: the decor, the lovely porch, the charming furnishings, the location, and maybe most of all, the warmth and thoughtfulness of the owners, Joe and Stephanie, who made the place accommodating and homey. They went out of their way to advise people about places to visit in Hendersonville and the surrounding Blue Ridge Mountains, complete with travel tips, directions, and maps that they printed out as necessary. I confess it didn't hurt that they spoke very genuinely and spontaneously of their appreciation of our son's and daughter in law's qualities with whom they had negotiated most of the arrangements, the kind of thing that's in the "seams" of the B&B experience, yet so personal and important. The Inn on Church is a very special human place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank izhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Church for 2 nights for a wedding that we attended at a nearby summer camp.
We felt there were promises made, but not delivered, and would therefore not recommend this inn without understanding the situation with the food service, in particular.
We had reservations for lodging/breakfast and additionally for dinner on the night of our arrival. We arrived at about 7:45 p.m. and were discreetly told and subsequently advised to dine elsewhere, although we had made a reservation for dinner many weeks prior to our arrival. It seems that 22 gentlemen were being accommodated for a special dinner and we were warned that we would have a very long wait for service. A promise for a reservation after traveling from afar, but no guarantee of service provided. We dined elsewhere.
Upon arrival, we were asked very solicitously, we thought, about restrictions that we might have for breakfast. We said that we don't eat ham or bacon. At breakfast, there was bacon and the server refused to remove it or to bring the meal without it. We were asked about beverages, and we requested milk and were told that there wasn't any, only half and half. The oatmeal was so sugary as to be inedible, although several people in our group had asked for it without the added sugar.The response in a sharp, nasty manner was NO, not possible. It was not service with a smile or southern hospitality at all. The next morning, choices of juice were offered, but then rescinded because "we ran out of it." The cheese filling of the crepes was cold obviously having been improperly defrosted and reheated.
If you provide breakfast, provide it with choices, have enough food on hand, particularly the staples, and sack the rude waitress or at least, train her properly.
As for the inn itself, the doors to the room were improperly fit leaving wide gaps on top and sides--a poor restoration job; there quilts (clean?) hanging from hooks in the hallway and left there-for what reason, I have no idea. A large white refrigerator in the middle of the corridor seemed quite out of place with the attempt at period decor. The armoire in our room was so short as to make it impossible for a dress to hang properly, the floor boards were extremely noisy, there were no toiletries provided and only one tiny bar of soap.
Promises, no delivery. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabasavta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Owner at Inn on Church, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed meeting you and your family. The bride and groom are
a delight.
Joe & Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
759 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
466 reviews
1.9 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.3 mi away
Ramada Hendersonville
Ramada Hendersonville
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
636 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Church

Property: Inn on Church
Address: 201 3rd Ave W, Hendersonville, NC 28739-4307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Church 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 90 year old historic inn and gourmet restaurant is conveniently located one block from Hendersonville's Main Street shops, antique stores, and restaurants. We are only 20 miles from Asheville, in the beautiful Western North Carolina Blue Ridge Mountains. We offer bed and breakfast lodging, a full-service event center with gourmet cuisine, wine list, event facilities, catering services and a single minded dedication to the comfort and satisfaction of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inn on Church reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Church Street Hotel Hendersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing