We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere”
Review of The Henderson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Henderson
Ranked #3 of 14 Hendersonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I'm among those with a wedding party recently, with the wedding itself at a nearby campground. I'm the father of the groom, in fact, and my wife and I as well as the bride's parents and the bride and groom themselves, cared a lot about finding a place, after lots of research, that would be a pleasure for friends and relatives. I was delighted with this B&B, would return in a heartbeat, and would recommend it to others. There were some imperfections. For example, the choices at breakfast were too limited and not readily accommodating people with dietary requirements or even just strong preferences. I think more flexibility should be built-in and not only emerging with special requests. On the other hand, before I arrived, my wife and my sister and her partner had dinner one evening in the Inn's restaurant that they haven't stopped raving about. I trust the owners to work on whatever is flawed because they are very dedicated and caring. Overall, I felt the whole was greater than the sum of its parts: the decor, the lovely porch, the charming furnishings, the location, and maybe most of all, the warmth and thoughtfulness of the owners, Joe and Stephanie, who made the place accommodating and homey. They went out of their way to advise people about places to visit in Hendersonville and the surrounding Blue Ridge Mountains, complete with travel tips, directions, and maps that they printed out as necessary. I confess it didn't hurt that they spoke very genuinely and spontaneously of their appreciation of our son's and daughter in law's qualities with whom they had negotiated most of the arrangements, the kind of thing that's in the "seams" of the B&B experience, yet so personal and important. The Inn on Church is a very special human place.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank izhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Church for 2 nights for a wedding that we attended at a nearby summer camp.
We felt there were promises made, but not delivered, and would therefore not recommend this inn without understanding the situation with the food service, in particular.
We had reservations for lodging/breakfast and additionally for dinner on the night of our arrival. We arrived at about 7:45 p.m. and were discreetly told and subsequently advised to dine elsewhere, although we had made a reservation for dinner many weeks prior to our arrival. It seems that 22 gentlemen were being accommodated for a special dinner and we were warned that we would have a very long wait for service. A promise for a reservation after traveling from afar, but no guarantee of service provided. We dined elsewhere.
Upon arrival, we were asked very solicitously, we thought, about restrictions that we might have for breakfast. We said that we don't eat ham or bacon. At breakfast, there was bacon and the server refused to remove it or to bring the meal without it. We were asked about beverages, and we requested milk and were told that there wasn't any, only half and half. The oatmeal was so sugary as to be inedible, although several people in our group had asked for it without the added sugar.The response in a sharp, nasty manner was NO, not possible. It was not service with a smile or southern hospitality at all. The next morning, choices of juice were offered, but then rescinded because "we ran out of it." The cheese filling of the crepes was cold obviously having been improperly defrosted and reheated.
If you provide breakfast, provide it with choices, have enough food on hand, particularly the staples, and sack the rude waitress or at least, train her properly.
As for the inn itself, the doors to the room were improperly fit leaving wide gaps on top and sides--a poor restoration job; there quilts (clean?) hanging from hooks in the hallway and left there-for what reason, I have no idea. A large white refrigerator in the middle of the corridor seemed quite out of place with the attempt at period decor. The armoire in our room was so short as to make it impossible for a dress to hang properly, the floor boards were extremely noisy, there were no toiletries provided and only one tiny bar of soap.
Promises, no delivery. Don't stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabasavta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe C, Owner at The Henderson, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We enjoyed meeting you and your family. The bride and groom are
a delight.
Joe & Stephanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fairly large B&B very close to downtown Hendersonville. Stayed on the third floor which was quiet and well appointed...no bathroom toiletries (shampoo, etc) just soap...really ((?)....for the price??!) Very small room/Gatsby but the bath was large... and had everything we needed included free wifi. Could have added a flat sceren as the tv has microscopic.
Loved the Keurig/coffee spot in the hall!
Breakfast served for 1 hour, 8-9 AM.(?) but it was wonderful- homemade, plantiful and gourmet.
Wonderful wraparound porch- hosts were pleasant.
We also ate lunch here one afternoon and the meal was superb.

Room Tip: lots of stairs so check on your room location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Outlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I are from the area so did not stay at the Inn but got a tour of their beautiful rooms. We did have our rehearsal dinner there and loved it!!. The food and atmosphere were perfect. We could not have asked for more perfect hosts than Joe and Stephanie, they made everything so easy and relaxed I did not have one worry and could spend the whole night enjoying my friends and family.
I would recommend this place to anyone coming into town the location is perfect (right off main street), food is great and the hosts are wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ncjosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a cute bed and breakfast. We stayed there for a weekend while visiting our son at camp. the place was very nice- not updated though. The beds were clean and comfortable- but the window a/c units were unbearable. This was the only issue we had with the place. The breakfast was good- and the people were very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce_Pope, General Manager at The Henderson, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Corrina B.,

We've filed a report with TripAdvisor to have your review placed on the page for the Inn on Church Street.

Regards,

Bruce Pope
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Originally selected Inn on Church due to proximity to downtown. The picture on the web does not do this great place justice. Decided to try their Sunday brunch 2 weeks earlier while heading back from Asheville. The fritatta was amazing and the service matched. Scoping out where we would soon be staying, the place was immaculate, everyone was friendly, and we knew we had found a gem. We staye this past weekend. The room was great, dinner was fabulous, and breakfast the next morning was a homerun. Joe and Stephanie were genuine and gracious--we loved them immediately. And it is clear they rub off on the staff. We'll be heading back again for sure--to sleep and eat!.

Burt & Carolyn R

Room Tip: Stayed in Guliani - overlooked main drag. A little traffic noise early evening, which dies down. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Inn itself was so charming and had great character. Joe and Stephanie made sure we had everything we need to make our stay super enjoyable. Breakfast and dinner were both fantastic!!This was a last minute trip and I'm so thankful they had availability! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
2.7 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
808 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Cascades Mountain Resort
The Cascades Mountain Resort
#6 of 11 in Hendersonville
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
Best Western Hendersonville Inn
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
515 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mountain Lodge
Mountain Lodge
#3 of 6 in Flat Rock
336 reviews
1.9 mi away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#3 of 11 in Hendersonville
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henderson

Address: 201 3rd Ave W, Hendersonville, NC 28739-4307 (Formerly Inn on Church)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Hendersonville
Price Range: $177 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Henderson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 98 year old historic inn and gourmet restaurant is conveniently located one block from Hendersonville's Main Street shops, antique stores, and restaurants. We are only 20 miles from Asheville, in the beautiful Western North Carolina Blue Ridge Mountains. We offer bed and breakfast lodging, a full-service restaurant and event center, Harvey's, with gourmet cuisine, wine list, event facilities, catering services and a single minded dedication to the comfort and satisfaction of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Henderson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Church Street Hotel Hendersonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing