We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downtown Dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cypress Cellar - CLOSED

Cypress Cellar
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Downtown Dining”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nice front. Upon entrance welcoming, casual environment. That all ended when we were seated in the bar area where there obviously, after about 20 minutes, was a large party scheduled for the area. During our entire dinner staff just kept hanging around the edges, pointing at our table and talking among themselves. Our server, Colleen, later informed us that the party was larger than anticipated. It was obvious that they wanted our table for the party. The owner even came over to our table to remove our ware and ask if we needed anything.

I felt bullied!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Our server was great. She told us not to be in a rush, they overbooked and for us to take our time, which we did.

The food was outstanding, the server was oustanding, but the owner and other staff were pushy and unprofessional. It made the atompshere and entire experience uncomfortable, especially since the party was loud and obnoxious, just a bunch of drunk rednecks.

So if you want good cajun food in Hendersonville NC, this is a great place to go . . . just make sure to be seated in the dining room.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcrba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    30
    17
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You have to eat here!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fantastic food and service. Southern Louisiana cuisine at it's finest. Will most definitely be back!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Cajun Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stopped for a quick dinner in Hendersonville after day on the Blue Ridge Parkway. We had eaten at Cypress Cellar a few years ago and enjoyed the meal then. The menu is even better now. We were there late afternoon and there were few other patrons. We were greeted and seated fairly quickly. We both had the Shrimp Duo (fried shrimp and shrimp creole) and we both chose sides of salad and jambalaya. The food was tasty, especially the fried shrimp, but none of it was hot when it arrived at our table, only fairly warm. It definitely would have been better if it had been served promptly. We saw really no reason for this since there were few other diners. We also enjoyed the bread pudding for dessert which was outstanding. Overall, we enjoyed our meal but the Average rating is due to the food temperature. This should be an easy fix for this establishment! We would go again and just hope the food is brought out more promptly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuthAnne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food and Kid Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We and some friends had dinner here one night. My husband is from Lousiana, and our friend has family there. It's hard to please a native with Cajun cuisine outside of LA. Our friends ordered a variety of appetizers which they enjoyed. My hubby got the red beans and rice. As expected, he thought it was just ok. We all agreed that he should've gotten the smaller version along with other dishes. I had the crab claw appetizer and crawfish etouffe which were both very good. I split a dessert with my kids and it was delicious (brownie type with ice cream). Even my husband liked it and he isn't a dessert person.

The kids sat at their own table and were given a menu to color. They had a good selection of dishes for them to eat (some are very picky eaters). They got fruit chews for dessert. We will definitely being going back here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank SCalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food, but extremely slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

It took over an hour from the time our order was placed to when the food was finally served. We visited during lunch on a Saturday with customers at 8 other tables. The food was quite good, but if service is an important consideration if time is of the essence, you may want to choose another option.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cypress Cellar also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing