We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great first ride for our daughter!”

Shoal Creek Horseback Riding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great first ride for our daughter!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family and I called and made arrangements for an hour trail ride. Everyone was friendly and amazing. This was our 8 year olds first ride by herself and it couldn't have been a better experience. She loved the horse she rode, Madeline (maddie) and thought it was over with way too quickly. If you are looking for a great family outing, this is the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing Ride with a great guide”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful 2 hour ride. Our guide was very friendly and entertained us during our trip. We have ridden at many different places and I must say the horses at Shoal Creek were the most gentle and easy going, and well-cared for horses I have ever ridden. The ride, although very chilly, was not too dificult and the scenery was beautiful. Thank you for a wonderful ride! I wasn't even that sore the next day. :-)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank teacher4kidsattek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was our first time horseback riding so we really didn't know what to expect. We called the number on TA and spoke with Olivia. She had several appointments, which could be an hour or longer (not sure what the longest was). We decided to go on the hour trek. We arrived at Shoal Creek Farm and assumed with the horse stables that this was where we had to go. While we waited for the next group to arrive, we fed a pair of horses grass.

Once Olivia and her party arrived, it took us no time to get on our horses and start riding. Olivia made the experience very enjoyable due to her great personality and experience with horses. The horses were very calm and easy going. We rode along side a road for a bit before getting to the trail which was interesting. The horses didn't mind the cars at all. The tricky part was keeping the horses from going through the branches on the sides of the trail. It was amazing how powerful the horses were! Such a great experience, we will be back for a longer trip!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mannyhits14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our guide Olivia is very nice, educated, patient, and competent. She took us through some beautiful scenery and she is the best guide we've had in six horseback rides in various states. You need to call ahead to schedule a ride. Whether it's your first time (like the 3rd grader who followed our ride) or seasoned veteran, she'll take care of you. My wife rode a horse named Pasco and I rode on Duke. The stable pig (who thinks he's a dog) came with us. Hilarious! The stables are located about 30 minutes out of Hendersonville. Stop here for your ride before going to check out Triple Falls.

http://www.shoalcreeknc.com/

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoal Creek Horseback Riding also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Shoal Creek Horseback Riding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing