We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poe House consistently enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Poe House

The Poe House
Ranked #32 of 195 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poe House consistently enjoyable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The Poe House, under and behind West First Restaurant, is a great setting for enjoying ever-changing local and regional beers and offers a consistently interesting selection of wine flights. Local musicians add to the enjoyment of evenings in the casual, friendly atmosphere. I have gone several times and completely enjoyed myself!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank garyv305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

I had read the article in the local news paper when they opened Spring of 2013 but just went. Love the place. Cute, quant, medieval friendly. Wait staff friendly and attentive. It was a Friday evening and they were packed by 7pm. Nice two person harmony Live band playing, nice. Not too loud we could still carry a conversation. Great beer and wine selection, really anything you want. You can order a cheese and cracker tray or a selection. Of four pizza's which come from west First Restaurant and are delicious. Also, you are able to order a carry out from West First, go get it, and eat it at Poe House. Poe House is directly under West First. Coo place will go back again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jobinlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the theme!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Quaint and cozy, with an eclectic array of imported beer and wines to choose from, and talented local musicians appear often. First Tuesday of each month is Trivia night, enjoyed (and won!) the two times I've played there:) A must visit when you are in downtown H'ville!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Pursuit of Pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a great little find. Tucked in a back alley, down a few steps is The Poe House. My sisters and brother-in-law and I experienced a wine and beer tasting. Wonderful time, great beer on tap. It also comes with a very nice cheese plate. I will go again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NannylovesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fun hangout with good selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

When we were told the wait for a table upstairs at West First for our large group would be forty-five minutes, we decided to have drinks first at The Poe House. It was Pint Night, so they were quite busy, but were able and willing to creatively accommodate our group. They have a good selection of beer and wines, and I tried Wine Flight 1, and liked all of the wines. The musician was great, and The Poe House was very lively.

We returned with a larger group the next night when they weren't as busy, and filled about 1/3 of the space ourselves. Although they were supposed to close at 10, they let us stay until 11. Again, they had a great performer. This time I ordered Wine Flight 4 and was equally as pleased.

On both occasions, the staff was very attentive.

If I lived in Hendersonville, I would be a regular visitor to The Poe House!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poe House also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Poe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing