We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kelsey's Restaurant & Lounge - CLOSED

Kelsey's Restaurant & Lounge
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

First of all the menu was way too extensive...they could take half the items off the menu and still have a more than adequate selection of items. I ordered the spinach pie (though I was surprised it wasn't called Spanakopita since the restaurant is Greek owned & operated) and was pleased with the dish as well as the greek salad that came with it. My husband on the other hand ordered the bourbon beef tips even though the waitress told him up front it was sweet. It was unbelievably sweet for a main dish and it couldn't have been that sweet from just bourbon. He did eat it but would never order it again. Also the vegetables on the side were tasteless, unseasoned & mushy probably from a frozen bag.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phylpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    22
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Lure, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Campers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a very good time here. Everything was perfect. Friendly Waitress, and Waiter.The seating was perfect,we had a great view of the restaurant, and waterfall outside. The food was very tasty. The French onion soup was very good. The restaurant is clean and fresh.The menu is a bit large. Like a kid in a candy shop,It is hard to choose because everything is so tempting.We'll have to order something different everytime we visit. We will return for sure!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
439 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Big menu, big servings, well-prepared, tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here many times since the new owners took over last year and have never been disappointed with a single meal. Probably my biggest and only real complaint is the bread they serve always seems to be a day older than it should be. If you're looking for a family style meal or eating with a group with a wide variety of preferences...this is the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Arizonafoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Need for lots of improvement to be successfull”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Salad was good, but meal was served way too soon before we had finished 1/2 of salad. They forgot to bring rolls and some side dishes until we asked for them. Baked potato was cold & chicken hardly warm. Way too large of a menu-no way too keep all entrees fresh. Portions were large. Did not offer any specials. Had to take our own check up front to pay & than was embarrassed when asked verbally in front of everyone "how much to add for our tip"!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LynneHemenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“SUNDAY STEAK LUNCH”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had been on the road and were really hungry. Stopped at Kelsey's for lunch. Decided to splurge and have a steak. Long story short, not cooked right. Steaks are expensive and don't eat them often. Did speak to management. Undecided whether to return or not.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnnaJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kelsey's Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing