We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it. The dogs loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Justus Orchard

Justus Orchard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We loved it. The dogs loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

It was very crowded the day we visited and you know why. Apple Time! We saw heaps and tables of wonderful apples of many varieties, some of which were all new to us. Cameo, Musti, Arkansas Black... People were eating barbeque which smelled delicious. We had Apple cider doughnuts, which were to die for and chased it with an Apple Cider Slushie, equally good. German Shepherd Max and Aussie Misti gave a friendly greeting to all who came, including our dogs, Bess Basset and little king Bert. Loved the cow train! A great place to take the family. We purchased a half bushel of various kinds of apples- so fresh and delicious, You can pick your own. Staff is all have happy smiles and are eager to help. Nicest orchard we have ever seen.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kittylatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    22
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Orchard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We truly enjoyed Justus. Great prices, friendly staff and wonderful desserts. The tractor rides for the kids is $3. It wasn't crowded which was great. We will be going back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful Way to Spend Time with the Family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The Fall season and apple picking is one of my most cherished family memories. No longer is it my mom and sisters, but my loving spouse and our children. We go to Justus Orchard in the morning and the crowds were already building.

We got an 'apple slushie' and some apple donuts before trekking into the orchard. The gentleman behind the weighing/paying counter was very helpful and offered a lot of advice and encouragement. "Wander into the orchard and do some taste testing...enjoy yourselves" and we did just that!

We over picked our supply and we brought a lot more home than we expected. It was fun trying to teach the children the names of each type of apple. The apples were tasty and the staff was friendly. You should schedule several trips through out the season because different apples mature at different times.

Oh yeah, before we left - we had to buy some more apple donuts! It was a great adventure for the family.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ratboy859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, FL
Level Contributor
197 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Such a great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently went to pick apples while we were visiting NC for vacation. We vacation very close to another orchard but wanted to try a new one. This one did not disappoint! The staff was very friendly. Our 2-yr old had so much fun picking apples that she now asks to do it again every time we get in the car. I would definitely recommend a visit to this orchard for anyone!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FLGirlForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful orchard, great little store, and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My family has a tradition of visiting an apple orchard each year, and we went to Justus Orchard in 2012. Our group consisted of our two boys age 12 and 9, my husband and I, my brother, my mom, and our golden retriever. Everyone had a good time! The family who owns the orchard works it as well and was really friendly and warm to talk to. I've been to plenty of other orchards over the past 7 or 8 years, and this one has by far the nicest staff. The people seem like they actually enjoy what they do there! Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kellyuttgrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Justus Orchard also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Justus Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing