We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good burgers, great service”
Review of The Dugout

The Dugout
Ranked #32 of 200 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Southeast
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good burgers, great service”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I had lunch here because they had outside tables and were very accommodating of our dog and were expecting a run of the mill meal. Instead we enjoyed homemade burgers dressed out with mushrooms and Swiss. Liza (our dog) enjoyed the Philly steak sandwich. Fries were hand cut and fresh. Inside and out it was clean. We will definitely eat there again!
The music was great, staff and food excellent - not your typical sports bar.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetPeamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    51
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Landrum, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great music, great service...just GREAT!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

New owner, Mike, is really on the ball! From the quality of the food, the music, the service, and the atmosphere, to the clean, fresh appearance of the place, from front to back; it is clear that Mike & crew know what they are doing! We can hardly wait for football season! Love the menu, especially the chicken tenders, cheese sticks, and the cucumber tomato salad. Excellent beer selection, and Bluegrass on Sunday evenings! Give them a try!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieWSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, live bluegrass!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Dugout looks like most sports bars, but we were pleasantly surprised that the food was quite good and a live bluegrass band played while we ate. The restaurant is clean and family friendly and the service was good. I had a chicken sandwich with fries, which are fresh and home-cut and almost as good as my all-time favorite fries from In-N-Out Burger. The live bluegrass music was awesome -- definitely not what we were expecting! Also very reasonable prices -- a bit more affordable than most other sit-down restaurants nearby.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great fries, good beer, great service”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our meal at The Dugout. Fries are fresh and some of the best in Hendersonville. This is good pub food, done better than anywhere else in town. Good value and tasty meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerlillyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Sat outside with friends and had an excellent server, Meredith, who was, friendly, prompt and efficient. The manager, Mike, was also very friendly; the food was excellent and prices reasonable.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dugout also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Dugout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing