We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Community Theatre; Excellence at its best!”

Hendersonville Community Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hendersonville Community Theatre is Western North Carolina's hometown treasure. We are the official community theatre of Hendersonville, NC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local Community Theatre; Excellence at its best!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you want to see theater at a reasonable cost, go see a show at Hendersonville Little Theatre. The all volunteer community theater puts on high quality shows that are equivalent to professional theaters. The theater offers a variety of shows that will sure please any theater goer wanting to escape for the night. The shows are very well put together and are casts perfectly. All the volunteers put in numerous hours from the directors to the actors to the concession stand operators. The theater also offers an intimate setting were you feel you are part of the production and are always greeted with a friendly face. So if you are looking for a fun night out on the town, catch a show at Hendersonville Little Theatre and you won't be disappointed!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank theatrebuff1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Etowah, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Newly Rennovated Theatre with GREAT Shows”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

If you are looking for a great experience with a hometown feel and excellent performances, then Hendersonville Little Theatre is the place for you. Each performance that I have attended has been nothing short of excellent. If you are looking for high quality theatre at very low prices then you must come to Hendersonville Little Theatre, I assure you will not be dissapointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rellyj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etowah, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite theater”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

For the last two years, we've had season tickets to the Hendersonville Little Theatre, missing only a single production out of a dozen plays. We usually persuade friends and neighbors to join us for a fantastic night on the town.

Each performance we've attended at the Little Theatre has been nothing short of superb with excellent actors, nice staging and a very intimate feeling in the auditorium. With only about 100 seats in the theater, and no obstructions to contend, with you can be certain that your seat is likely to be the best in the house. The acoustics are perfect.

We worried that the extraordinary charm of the old location on State Street would be lost as the company moved to downtown Hendersonville. Instead, the remodeled theater retains it's quaint old-time character in the converted church building on South Williams Street. The move offered additional benefits. There is seemingly unlimited free parking surrounding the building. A comfortable lobby and spacious reception room allow for better mingling before the performance and during intermission. Expanded concessions include wine and beer, a variety of soft drinks, candies, popcorn and the freshly baked brownies and gourmet coffee.

Hendersonville Little Theatre is a wonderful asset to the downtown community. Whenever we attend a performance, we always include a pre-show dinner at one of our favorite restaurants within easy walking distance. We can easily afford a dinner/date each time since play tickets are so inexpensive.

If you haven't been to the new HLT theater, you are in for a wonderful surprise, This IS community theater with a heart.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not To Be Missed”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have been to Flat Rock Playhouse. It's big and expensive with huge sets and paid actors. But there is nothing like a theatre with heart. And that's what Hendersonville Little Theater has...Heart. There isn't a bunch of money being spent for sets and actors and yes a second theater. It's just people that love theater and love to entertain other people. I enjoy it everytime I go. Because the people there are creative and talented. They are creative with everything they do. Because they don't need big money to make a great set. They don't need paid actors because they have talent. You feel at home there. They are glad to see you. Unlike Flat Rock with the big theater and the lets move on people we want your money and go so we can move onto another show. I'm so glad that I have a place that I can go to get entertained. I hope that you all will try Hendersonville Little Theater. You won't be disappointed. You will go home thinking wow those people are awesome. They pick great plays to do and do them differently and creatively. And once you go your hooked you have to go back again and again to see what greatness they are putting out this time. I mean come on "Herman" the dead body....and the cool and different Dr. Jekell And Mr. Hyde. That's just a couple of examples. Give these guys a try you will like it. You will want to tell all your friends. The cool spot is not Flat Rock Playhouse with their government money and huge sets and paid actors. It's Hendersonville Little Theater where they are happy you came and want you to stay and enjoy yourself.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Sugar-n-Spice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well done community theater!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you're ever in the Western North Carolina mountains and have an afternoon or evening to spare and you enjoy good old hometown community theater . . . then look into getting tickets for THE LITTLE THEATER on Washington Street in the lovely town of Hendersonville. You will not be disappointed - it's quality theater done right!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefjudi45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hendersonville Community Theatre also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hendersonville Community Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing