We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its what it is.”

Elijah Mountain Gem Mine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Elijah Mountain Gem Mine, in Hendersonville, NC, you become a prospector from the 1800's and mine for real gem stones that you can keep! Gems that are found daily include Rubys, Sapphires, Emeralds, Quartz crystals, Citrine, Amethyst, Garnets, Adventurine, Sodalite, Opal, Fluorite, Aquamarine and many more! Our flumes are covered for your comfort and for rain or shine mining! You can even bring a picnic and relax at one of our picnic tables or by the creek! During colder months we have INDOOR mining too!Our Rock Shop is the best around and no one can beat our prices! Also, come pet our baby goats!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Its what it is.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Its a place for you, your family to come have a good time. You will take home some pretty rocks. Elijah Mountain Gem Mine has the best in store prices of any place I have ever entered. Nice folks. I came all the way from the beach of Onslow County NC just to enjoy the mountains with my wife for a few days and Elijah Mountain Gem Mine was a part of that. I will stop by the next time I go to the mountains.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayford P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Elijah Mountain Gem Mine, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us such a great review! Glad y'all had a good time here. Yes, we work very hard to find deals on gem specimens that save our customers thousands every year. It's a fun treasure hunt for us too! Hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    70
    13
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Who doesn't like finding buried treasure?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Took my grandson and I think the adults had more fun. Playing in the dirt searching for gems is a lot of fun. Then sorting and trading after you get home extends the fun even longer. We even bring out earlier collections to see all the beautiful gems we discovered. They also have gems, antiques and uniques to browse & purchase if you don't like to play in dirt.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Queenwondergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most fun cleaning dirt ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Easy to find, wheelchair acessible, indoor and outdoor sluices. Four of us went for a birthday party and bought the Family Mining Super Deal :)
Includes *4- $20 Large Prospector's Dream Buckets
*1- $30 Ancient Fossil Bucket
*4- $1 Trading Coins for use in Rock Shop
*1-Magnifying Glass
*1- Gem ID Chart
*1- Fossil ID Booklet
*Little Miner Helmets
VALUE $135 $99

Joe set us up and helped us to sluice.
He was great at identifying the various stones we found.
DO NOT THROW OUT ANYTHING that remains in your box.
It is all good stuff.
The small stones look great in jars or fish tanks.
We have several pieces suitable for cutting into jewelry.
It took us four hours slucing looking and watching other people unearth their finds.
This business was started as a home school project by an eight year old and continues to grow successfully each year.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lynifer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Elijah Mountain Gem Mine, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Wow, the check's in the mail! What a nice review. I'm so glad everyone had such a good time. Our #1 priority here is to have everyone leave here as happy as you were. We know you have a choice of how to spend your time and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My cousin and I went last week and our buckets had a ton of stones in them - more than at the gem mine we went to Pigeon Forge. Great gift selection and really nice staff. Took a ride over to Bat Cave afterwards!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PinkPop-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean C, Owner at Elijah Mountain Gem Mine, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so glad you had a good time here. I hope you will come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
439 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Wonderful selection of minerals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This little place has an amazing selection of minerals and rocks...really worth a visit, and we found the prices to be quite reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Arizonafoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elijah Mountain Gem Mine also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Asheville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Elijah Mountain Gem Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing