We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Employees need some training” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joey's New York Bagels

Joey's New York Bagels
Ranked #30 of 194 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Employees need some training”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Every time I have been here I have asked for my bagel to be toasted and it never is. I do not understand this. The most recent time I was there, I asked the girl at the register what were the ingredients in some of the cream cheese mixtures. She had no clue!!! With all the food allergies people seem to have etc, I would think the owners would have a list posted some place of what exactly is in all the mixed cream cheeses since the employees do not know. The bagels are tasty, but I think this place needs better management.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank beautyqueen416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    23
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, SC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great bagels!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were visiting Hendersonville over the weekend, and had read the great reviews, so stopped by on Sunday morning. We ordered a couple toasted bagels with cream cheese, a bagel sandwich, and a bunch of bagels and bialys to take home. They also had french toast bagels, which sounded delicious but not car friendly. I can't attest to the authenticity of its "New Yorkness", but I can say that these were great bagels! Also this place is NOT joking around with the cream cheese. My bagel was overfilled to the point where I had to scrape off a wad of cream cheese to finish eating the bagel. For people who prefer very generious schmears, this is a winner! The sandwich was also generously filled with meat and cheese. It came with a side and a pickle. The bialy was the best part. Crusty exterior, chewy and airy interior. Another amazing thing about Joey's is the pricing. Really great value. It's 99 cent for a bagel - you can't go wrong! Don't miss out on Joey's!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ouchfirehot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
153 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful bagels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I love the egg bagel. It's just perfect, especially with a jalapeño cheese bagel! Only drawback is no wifi (it's a small place, so they can't have their tables taken up by all morning techies), but the food and coffee make up for it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Best since I've Been here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Best bagel experience while in the area! Very well ran operation with great NY style bagels. They have sandwiches, wraps, and omelets too. Easy to find from Main Street.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 267Trishaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Bagels ever!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This place is awesome! We eat here often. Very good bagels, wonderful sandwiches.. the best!! The owner is very nice and so is the staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 860wnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey's New York Bagels also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Joey's New York Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing