We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food near Hendersonville, NC”
Review of Sol y Luna

Sol y Luna
Ranked #24 of 200 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Etowah, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
“Best Mexican Food near Hendersonville, NC”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The staff is attentive and helpful. We have been there numerous times and the place is always clean, and the food is excellent! There is a great variety to choose from along with some happy hour prices on drinks. You don't want to miss it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    59
    15
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ and NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite Mexican restaurant”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Hendersonville has an abundance of Mexican restaurants and Sol y Luna is our favorite. Papas and Bear and El Paso have a more festive atmosphere and are also worthy of your business but two things separate Sol y Luna from the pack. The first and most important is simply the quality of the food. My favorite entree is the Sol y Luna chicken burrito. Best burrito in town. Also recommend the guacomole which is made table side.

The second reason to visit is the patio. No view but it is a cozy and private.

The restaurant is actually in Laurel Park but it is close to downtown and simple to find.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBodamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Working our way through the menu”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We really like this place - friendly service and the food is much better than the regular fare at Mexican restaraunts. We are trying to work our way through the menu and so far have not been disappointed. Perhaps my favorite so far are the burritos - the BBQ chcken is fabulous and the Chile Relleno (sp?) is right there with it. My wife really likes the tortilla soup with chicken and thinks the Fajitas are the best anywhere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fondo, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is one of the newer Mexican restaurants in town, so we gave it try. While the food was of a good quality, it didn't seem genuine. The servers seemed uncomfortable; perhaps they were new. It is probably a bit better suited for those that aren't that fussy about food authenticity and want large portions (portions are large) and lots of beer.

If you really like California Mexican food as opposed to real Mexican food, this place might be okay. It may just be us, but we prefer the real deal. There are probably 3 or 4 better places in Hendersonville.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FondoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key largo
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“best mexican in town!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love the clean nice atmosphere. Tortillas are homemade and great. Dips are fantastic. Food portions are large. Best mexican in Hendersonville, and there are several!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seekmyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol y Luna also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sol y Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing