We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent California style Mexican with a little added class”
Review of Sol y Luna

Sol y Luna
Ranked #24 of 200 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
pigeon forge, yn
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent California style Mexican with a little added class”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is really an outstanding restaurant. We lived in southern California for over 4o years so prefer cal mex over tex mex, although really enjoy all styles. This restaurant takes the extra effort to make the meal more upscale without added prices. The service is excellent also.
Some examples of the extra efforts;
Warm Fajita Salad is assembled at the table by the server. Everything goes into a stainless bowl and mixed, then a sauce is added and mixed. The flavor and quality is just a step above even the best fajitas we have ever had, and is in a salad form.
Tacos are made with a very flavorful roasted beef, not hamburger, are lagre, mexican cheese not cheddar, plenty of vegies.
Veggie wrap with a special mexican sour cream type sauce is great.
Chicken tortilla soup is outstanding.

Everything is just really well done. There are a few other good Mexican places in Hendersonville but this is the best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ah_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    59
    15
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Mex in Town”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I almost really hate to tell everyone how good this place is. I have to get there early just to get a table. The table side guacamole is as good as I make at home. I have been trying different dishes and my current favorite is the chicken flautas. I used to eat at Papas and Beer, but I haven't been back since finding this gem.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We found this restaurant a few months ago and have really enjoyed it very much. I love their table side guacamole! They make it right in front of you with fresh ingredients. It is a lot of fun. The menu is appealing and has a lot of choices. The kids menu is fantastic and includes real chicken for their chicken strips as well as a complimentary dessert. We have enjoyed eating both inside and outside. The staff has been friendly and courteous. The one draw back is that it is in a shopping plaza and parking can sometimes be a challenge. Don't let that stop you from trying out this great place. We have really come to like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gladacya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, NC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I love the food and the service at Sol y Luna. They always seem busy but still give excellent service. It is great to sit inside or out. You get a lot of food for the price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shoe1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Flavorful hispanic food”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Viewing the crowd of locals is enough to indicate how good the food and service are at Sol y Luna. Imagine a tastefully decorated sports bar with delicious food and a very flavorful selection of salsas. I have eaten at this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sol y Luna also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Sol y Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing