We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday buffet or weekday lunch, a real treat either way”

Daddy D's Suber Soulfood
Ranked #36 of 200 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Competitor's reviews: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/82/1419515/restaurant/Asheville/Daddy-Ds-Suber-Soulfood-Hendersonville
Restaurant details
Description: Competitor's reviews: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/82/1419515/restaurant/Asheville/Daddy-Ds-Suber-Soulfood-Hendersonville
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Sunday buffet or weekday lunch, a real treat either way”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We love the sunday buffet, especially the good vibes and the fried chicken, but also love to come at lunch on a weekday when there's a good chance Daddy D will come out and smooze a while! During the week we seem to always have the catfish, which never disappoints. And 7th is a really good feeling...you gotta love the festivals and I'm glad Daddy D's there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schdyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    20
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our Third Visit and It's Just as Good!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We decided to choose a restaurant that had food I DON'T make at home and for sure, I'd be a blimp if I made this incredibly delicious food more often than every once in a while!

We've never had better fried pork chops! The seasoning was just delicious. Macaroni and Cheese lived up to the positive comments we've read here and was generously swimming in butter. Stewed cabbage was new to me, but equally delicious. I suspect they might have added some sugar to it - which was a welcome addition. Corn muffins were refreshing moist as well as delicious.

Only nitpick was we would have preferred real butter instead of Shedd's Country Crock.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hmmmmmm....don't know why others are calling this a gem. Maybe I just went on a bad day, but they were out of several things I wanted to order, the fish was undercooked, and just pretty sub-par all together. Not impressed and I've eaten at a lot of Soul Food restaurants all over the East Coast. Sorry......gotta give this one a thumbs down and I'm definitely not going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NunyaBusinessEver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just like eating in mamma's kitchen!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were lucky enough to find this gem on Trip Advisor on our recent day trip to Hendersonville. Did not disappoint! Nothing fancy just good home cooked everything!!! Dined on delicious fried chicken and pork chops. okra, collards & Mac & cheese. The owner and staff will make you feel right at home, wonderful food and delightful people. We will be back for sure

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cc628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A happy paradox”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Not in a real good location. The building is dumpy both outside and in. But then. Cloth tablecloths and napkins. Excellent service. Fantastic food. My wife and I had fried chicken, fried pork chops, mac and cheese, collards, yams and slaw. Collards are not my thing but I think they were pretty good anyway. The rest was delicious. All of the side dishes were home made and it was obvious. This is the kind of place where you have to trust the reviews or you won't go there. Trust. Go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daddy D's Suber Soulfood also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Daddy D's Suber Soulfood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing