We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Cabin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Lake Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hendersonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Lake Cottages
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Beautiful Cabin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This cabin is a hidden gem! Less than 30 minutes from Asheville and close to many excellent hiking trails. The hot tub and fire pits are great diversions as well. Highly recommended to anyone looking for a peaceful break from city life.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PhilB192014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Beautiful Cabin with stream running through the property. A great place to get away and recharge. Very comfortable living area, could easily fit our entire group. Hot tub/firepit outside were great as well. Conveniently located near parks and entertainment. I highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GFB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great hot tub, comfy rooms, very peaceful area. A fun vacation away from the city! The place was very clean and spacious. I was very pleased with our stay! Not too far from asheville for those who want more city stuff to do.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Had an amazing weekend in the Quail Hollow Cabin with friends. The cabin was nestled in the woods on a quiet road- very relaxing! The cabin was clean and spacious, complete with an indoor and outdoor fireplace and a hot tub. It was only about 10 minutes from downtown Hendersonville (which had surprisingly good restaurants), and about 30-40 minutes from some great hiking trails and from Ashville. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here alone while visiting family in the area. It was just what we needed. The cabins are rustic but very clean. We enjoy camping so we did not mind the rustic feel. Michelle called to notify me while we we on our way that the people who had checked out of our cottage#1 just that morning had reported a leaky faucet. It was being repaired when we arrived. She offered us the cottage next door #3. We really wanted the porch view of the lake in #1 so she left the door unlocked so we could still use the porch even though we were moved to #3. Everything others have said about how friendly and helpful they are is true. We will go back again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftctodd, Director of Sales at Mountain Lake Cottages, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your short get-a-way. You are more than welcome back anytime you need another break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach, fl
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Disappointed. Cabin was musty, smelled of mildew, mattress had stains and covered with ripped mattress cover, hot tub did not work, had to clean entire cabin even though paid $60 cleaning fee, no lake access near rental-had to walk quite a ways on narrow road with traffic. Cabin is old and need of repairs.
Do not go by the picture, it is deceiving. Michele did reimburse us for purchasing new mattress pad which helped a bit.
Sent e mail to notify our dissatisfaction with no reply.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wpbspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ftctodd, Manager at Mountain Lake Cottages, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I am surprised at this guests review. Other than three phone calls and dropping by to resolve any issues she had during her stay, I did not receive an email notifying me of her dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Michele made every step of this vacation so satisfying! I booked based on pictures and price and I got much more for the price! Thanks Michele and all the staff at mountain lake cottages! We will see you next year!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hendersonville
2.7 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
7.0 mi away
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
Mountain Inn & Suites Airport
#2 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
Red Roof Inn Hendersonville
#7 of 11 in Hendersonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mill House Lodge
Mill House Lodge
#1 of 6 in Flat Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cabin Fever
Cabin Fever
#1 of 3 in Saluda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lake Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Cottages

Property: Mountain Lake Cottages
Address: 801 N Lakeside Dr, Hendersonville, NC 28739-4613 (Formerly Mountain Lake Inn)
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hendersonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hendersonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mountain Lake Cottages is a place where you can come to relax and find peace in today’s hectic world. The main house serves as the private residence of the Leoni family. The estate goes on to boast a lovely gathering of eleven one-bedroom cottages, circa 1920. Our pleasing cottages look out on beautiful Lake Osceola. The lake presents 1.6 miles of shoreline to explore. We encourage guests to use our canoe and kayak to enjoy the water. Fishing is permitted with a license. If boating and fishing aren’t your desire, rise early in the morning and let the mist on the lake take your breath away, or find an unfrequented place to sit, read and enjoy the quiet. Being only minutes from Main Street in Hendersonville you will be able to take advantage of all this charming town has to offer. Enjoy browsing our boutiques, antiquing or spend an evening on Main being entertained by live music at one of the many street dances. There are a wide variety of chef-owned restaurants to choose from for your dining pleasure. Day excursions to Brevard’s many waterfall trails and Asheville’s eclectic interests are a must. Check out our “things to do” page for many links to surrounding sites and activities. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing