We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for all ages”

Hands On!-A Child's Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Hands On! is the place where LEARNING comes into PLAY! Located in Downtown Hendersonville, Hands On! is a children's museum that provides educational exhibits and science programs to children ages 1-10, along with their caregivers. More information can be found at their website on special programs and classes, memberships and birthday parties.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Charleston SC
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I saw moms and dads racing Legos and playing play dough. This place brings out the kid in all of us.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ready2Goanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    25
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Place to Take the Kids”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Parents and grandparents of young children will find this a fun, learning experience for the kids. It's an inexpensive "quality time" thing to do.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank BlueRidgeTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fun for pre-schoolers!”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Really creative and fun place for pre-schoolers. Children must be attended by an adult. This is not a child-sitting service. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Hands-On! does a great job teaching kids about real life situations, too, such as shopping for healthy food. They even host a "local foods day" for children to learn about locally grown food.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An amazing place for fun, learning and discovery!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Hand's On! is an asset to Hendersonville and the community. Our family loves to go here and spend lots of time. It promotes learning, discovery, exploration and FUN! lots of hands on learning and activities. They even have classes sometimes. If you are in town and have kids, I highly recommend you plan to visit here.

Helpful?
1 Thank gladacya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogalusa, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“When the adults need a break and the KIDS want some FUN!”
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Hands On is hidden behind Black Bear Coffee Shop and some stores on Main St in Hendersonville. You go down the corridor between the stores not expecting it and then it opens up and there you are.

The $5 entrance fee was probably the BEST buy of our whole vacation! We had a rainy rainy day and our outside activites were obviously cancelled! So going to hands On was a great way for her to expend alot of energy and for some quality family bonding time!

There is a "grocery store", stage area, climbing rock and slide, lego race car building and downhill racing, a paint area, bubble and rice play areas, and my daughters FAVORITE- apple area with handcrank apple mover and bakery where kids can "make" apple pies!

We had a hard time making our daughter leave when it was time to go! She was ready to stay the WHOLE day!

Be sure to check in at Black Bear and get some juice and snacks for the kids and superb coffee for mom and dad!

Helpful?
6 Thank NicoleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hands On!-A Child's Gallery also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Hands On!-A Child's Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing