We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So So”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mean Mr. Mustard

Mean Mr. Mustard
Ranked #46 of 195 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American, Cafe, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving a casual sit down or takeout breakfast or lunch with additional outdoor dining.
WPB
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So So”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Cash Only!! ATM inside, bus own tables. could be friendlier, nice atmosphere especially on enclosed sun room.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beachboat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    45
    21
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good food, but helps if they like you.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

love to eat here but the waitresses have their favorites. muffins are great. omelet options are fantastic.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Things have changed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Mr. Mustard has moved to a new location and is now more of a coffee drive-through (like Starbucks) with some inside ordering and eating. Menu has been reduced, and they ask you to bus your own tables. No longer a full-service restaurant. Still kitchy with Beatles decor. Ordered "traditional" Eggs Benedict. They use Black Forest ham slices with a biscuit. Biscuit was a bit stale; eggs were undercooked. Cash only, but they have an ATM. Will look elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North, South Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Different”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were so upset when our favorite breakfast spot closed. BUT, we found them open in a new location!! So excited then disappointed. Not the same, why change a good thing? We pulled in and saw a couple come out disappointed and left, why? Cash only. Good to know but did not stop us. They are now a self order walk up to counter place. Good to know but did not stop us. Menu different missing some of our favorites but still had the grits. My husband ordered a breakfast egg bagel and coffee. (All his favorite items gone) I ordered the bowl of cheese grits with salmon and bourbon sauce, new for me. The grits are still the best no need for the added ingredients. Will order plain, next time. What disappointed us was the cost, almost $20. Too expensive. We will go back again, just for grits. Maybe a carry out of grits. So sad.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jobinlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Went for lunch to try out their new location. Ordered two sandwiches, a coffee, and a soda and the total was $23 ... thought it a bit pricy for a counter service cafe. Cash only, no credit cards (ATM on premise). My wife's roast beef sandwich was on plain white bread instead of the ciabatta on the menu. My version of a turkey Rueben was cold in the middle. Presentation was "no frills" ... plastic dish with a piece of foil and a handful of chips. Wasn't terrible, but nothing special to bring us back?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank breezdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mean Mr. Mustard also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Mean Mr. Mustard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing