We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience”
Review of Champa

Champa
Ranked #46 of 197 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: phone: 828-696-9800
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Part of our experiences at this restaurant were excellent. Atmosphere and presentation was great. Sushi was fresh but not amazing. Service was pleasant but spotty. We came at a time when we were the only diners and our waitress was positive and helpful but then evaporated. It is always amazing to me that the worst service usually takes place when the restaurant has the least guests. We will go back again and give it another try. Good enough to put on your travel agenda but not show stopping.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDI_McCandless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    32
    18
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All of us were very pleased”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Six of us went out for a local dinner. Two had the Chicken Tempura. One had the Shrimp Tempura. One had Sushi. One had some sort of a noodle thing with tofu (tofu = not if I can help it) and I had the Coconut chicken. We were all very pleased (even the tofu person). The tempura was very light and flaky and the coconut sauce for my chicken and pineapple was delicious. The presentation was very good. The service was only OK. We'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Asian Fusion”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The food is distinctive and well priced. There is something for everyone's palate. Conveniently located in downtown Hendersonville.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank teddyluvtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We drove the extra distance here, hoping to be impressed. Unfortunately, we were mistaken. The menu is an exact carbon copy of their restaurant in Asheville, the food was mediocre and the service was so so. I think I'll stick with the Champa in Asheville. A big difference. Finished our lunch and went across the street to another restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_Hillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent place! highly recommend”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

excellent. food was fresh and delicious. very clean with a great atmosphere. i can recommend it highly to anyone looking for sushi. wine list was very good as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJN293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champa also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing