We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet elegance after a hectic day”
Review of Champa

Champa
Ranked #50 of 200 Restaurants in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: phone: 828-696-9800
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet elegance after a hectic day”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I was working in the area for a few days and a coworker suggested that I try this place. What a good spot. Tom Yum soup was some of the best I have ever had. I ordered the crispy duck special and was well pleased with a well prepared dish. A quiet and welcoming restaurant that I will revisit on each trip to this area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GARC200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    18
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistentely Good Food & Service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We have been going to Champa for years and always count on very good sushi/sashimi, lovely presentation and excellent service. The restaurant is always spotlessly kept and its consistency is such a delight. We know that we can go there any night of the week and receive the same level of service and food. It is a shining star on Main Street Hendersonville, NC! Kudos to the owners, chefs and wait staff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dulcie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What Happened to the Food?”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I had lunch at Champa today. I have eaten here at least a dozen times for lunch over the past 2 years. Today the food was served cold and not prepared properly.I ordered chicken katsu bento box. When the food arrived the chicken was covered with a red ketchup. Normal katsu sauce is ketchup based with other ingredients including Worchester, salt, dry mustard, and garlic powder. You can buy better katsu sauce in the market from Kikkoman.
I ordered white rice with my bento box it tasted like it had been sitting in the rice cooker for several hours and was served luke warm.

I will not be going back to Champa again and would recommend you select another Hendersonville venue for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thai in Hendersonville”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate outside with our poodle. The menu was extensive but we concentrated on the Thai portion. Some dishes had a little heat but we liked that and we enjoyed it immensely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ettitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would definitely eat here again.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

First visit to downtown Hendersonville. After reviewing all of the menu postings along Main Street, we chose Champas. We had shrimp gyoza and unagi roll for appetizers and both were excellent. My parents ordered hibachi shrimp and I had panang curry with prawns (shrimp). The shrimp were cooked perfectly in all three entrees. The portions were perfect. The server was attentive without being intrusive, arriving at just the right time to refill drinks and clear plates. A very positive experience for all of us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rhood55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champa also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Champa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing