We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How sweet it is...”
Review of McFarlan Bakery

McFarlan Bakery
Ranked #1 of 12 Dessert in Hendersonville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
greenville, sc
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“How sweet it is...”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

A tip to Hendersonville is never complete without a stop at McFarlans. Outstanding baked goods and friendly, quick service. Never had anything that was less than excellent in the going on 40 years I've visited McFarlans (I'm not that old, I started young). This is the kind of bakery that has all but disaapeared. Go and enjoy...

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deepfreud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    72
    26
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The yellow layer cake with chocolate fudge icing is fantastic!”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We always stop at McFarlans on our way home from the mountains to buy treats for our staff. They went wild over the yellow cake with fudge icing. The almond danish is very good too.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank traveler54135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Watch out! The calories jump through the glass display case.”
Reviewed September 3, 2011

While doing your browsing along Main Street in Hendersonville be sure to stop in at McFarlan's Bakery. Get some of their cookies or cakes. The aroma alone is enough reason to stop in.

Before you leave town to head home, go by and get several loaves of their fresh bread to take home. I dare you not to open one package and of their bread and eat it before you get home!

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Whoa, I am in trouble now.............GREAT BAKERY”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Well this bakery can be an addiction. All I can say is wow for the Boston Creme donuts loaded, simply loaded with custard.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gammygayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Love the No Sugar Apple Streudel”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The No Sugar Apple Streudel is wonderful and you can treat yourself without going into sugar overload. I have bought cakes, gingerbread men, and streudel from this bakery many times and have never been disappointed. Everything is always fresh and first quality.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McFarlan Bakery also viewed

Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
Hendersonville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to McFarlan Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing