We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbecue”

Skipper Forsyth's Bar-b-q
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in Henderson
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Barbecue”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a friendly restaurant with a Southern feel. The chopped pork is the mustard-based sort of Carolina barbecue, not the more vinegary kind. I thought it was very good. We also had the ribs, which had a more typical molasses based sauce. I enjoyed the black-eyed peas and collard greens. The hush puppies were great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ranndom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a find! Delicious!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

GPS sent us off highway to avoid traffic and that's how we found Skipper's. It was 2 pm so it was after the lunch crowd and we were hungry. This was the best down home good food I've had in ages. Living in Washington, DC doesn't give us the opportunity for this kind of food. The service was very friendly. The hush puppies were plentiful and delicious. I asked which sides were fresh or homemade so that's why I ordered the corn pudding and butter beans along with the barbecue and Brunswick stew. I was in heaven. The kids loved their food too. My son begins school at Chapel Hill in the fall so I will make Skipper's a regular stop on my trips down to visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank sledgejoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Skippers - Henderson”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A very good example of NC Bar-B-Q. Very good stew, hush puppies, and tea. Good plate meals and vegetables, reasonable prices. Was surprised recently at how good the fried shrimp were. Always a good meal here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good Family Restaurant”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Was greeted warmly, makes you feel like family. The service is very good. I like eastern barbecue and was not disappointed. I enjoyed the chopped plate, cole slaw, lima beans and hushpuppies. Good flavor and taste. The restaurant is where there is plenty of locals come to enjoy a good meal. I would suggest trying Skipper's and enjoy good southern food. I will return on my next trip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dillard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Barbeque in Henderson”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is the best around if you like bbq that is vinegar based and with some "bite" to it! Love their cole slaw!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skipper Forsyth's Bar-b-q also viewed

 

Been to Skipper Forsyth's Bar-b-q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing