We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic views, quiet, all-you-need”
Review of Deerfield Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deerfield Inn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scenic views, quiet, all-you-need”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

With the Blue Ridges on the horizon, Lake Chatuge quietly stretches in front of the Inn. Great coffee in the lobby in the morning, and clean comfort in newly renovated rooms. I'll be sure to go here next time I'm back in the Hayesville area.

Room Tip: Some rooms are pet-friendly if that is your need. I am not a pet owner yet stayed in a pet-friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnMngt, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
What a nice review! Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. The views are quite something. We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
26
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Porte, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's really going to be hard to express just how pleased we were with our stay at Deerfield Inn. A systematic approach may be best, so as to cover all the bases. **Please note, if you have stayed at this hotel prior to 5 years ago (? give or take), it is under new owners and management.

The grounds: From the time you pull into the parking lot you will immediately notice genuine tender loving care for all the plantings, shrubs, lawn and the planters. Something very similar to what you would expect to see at a large Estate.

The leasing office: As you walk into the leasing office you will be dumbstruck by the quiet, peaceful tranquility that pervades the enitre room. The furniture is warm and beckons one to come in, sit down and feel at home. It almost takes you back to another time and place, like your Grandmother's parlor where you could feel the love and peace of being at "home".

Your Host: When you check in, there is a more than likely chance; if you're lucky, you will be welcomed by the Owner. To my shame I do not know / remember her name but, I will never forget the sweet, kind and warm disposition of the Owner as she welcomed us (and checked us) into her home. She treated us, and the couple after, as though she had known us for years and; was so glad that we had come to pay her a visit.....literaly, like we were extended family. Oh, and do not pass up the chance to converse with the owners Father. He reminds me of my Granddad - a gem from the "Greatest Generation", full of information, wit, charm and candor.

The room: Once you pry yourself away from the reception (office) room, you enter the most delightful and inviting surprise.....your room. When I opened the door for the Misses, we were both completely amazed at what we saw inside that doorway. We were both so shocked that we stood there for a few moments, just to process what we were seeing. The rooms are furnished in a country / auntique motif that almost transports you to another era and/or familial location....like Grandma's house. You are simply drawn in and feel obliged to "come in, sit down and make yourself at home". Then just outside the room, there is a very nice table and chairs set, that compels you to sit down and soak in the wonderful view of the lake across the way from the hotel. It's like having a dram of Scottish whisky.......you must sit back, slowly take it in and enjoy it like it's meant to be enjoyed!

To sum it up. If you're in the Hayesville, NC., area or just want to get away to a place that exudes peace and quiet, and is invitingly homey, you don't want to miss the Deerfield Inn!! I would wager good money that you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnMngt, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your lodging experience. Mostly we are happy to know you might return to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was our first stay at the Deerfield Inn. It was wonderful. Nice, comfortable mattress. Super clean rooms. Reasonable rates. And the people---outstanding! Our daughter was moving to Hayesville, and her home was not ready for extra people. So, this worked out well for us. And, I've never had a business call to inquire if we arrived home safely, but, yes, that is what Maria did the next day! We will be staying again whenever we are going thru Hayesville. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandywake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnMngt, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Your kind review is much appreciated. Most of all, we love to hear that you will stay with us again.
We will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I will not repeat great reviews below. This place is a heaven away from home. We stayed here about 5 times in 2013 while building a new house in area. Several times we stayed 1 day longer as planned, just because of mattress quality, we just couldnt leave :-) Maria, thank you very much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slovakguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnMngt, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make our guests lodging experience comfortable and a place you would return. It is great to know your experience was just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you're tired of the typical experience at a chain hotel, the Deerfield Inn is a great place to stay. Rooms were spotless and the beds comfortable. Décor was cozy and the service friendly. The view from our room was nothing less than spectacular! Highly recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnMngt, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We are glad you drove off the beaten path to discover us and the view in this beautiful area of Western North Carolina. Thank you for your kind words of a pleasant stay. We will look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We chose the Deerfield Inn primarily because they accepted pets. We had always seen the Inn from Lake Chatuge on previous visits during which we stayed at my brother’s lake house. Because that house was undergoing a major expansion/renovation, and because we were helping my brother out by checking on progress, we had to stay elsewhere. We arrived and were greeted by Maria at the front desk – she was helpful, charming and very friendly. We were given Room 20 at the far right-hand side of the Inn which is specifically for guests and their pets. The inn itself appears immaculately clean from the outside with fresh paint and a charming sitting area under the drive-under check in area as well as a large deck that provides a spectacular view of Lake Chatuge. Upon entering our room we were struck by the fact that it was not a “cookie cutter” room with standard out-of-the-box motel furniture. Two very comfortable queen beds were outfitted with nice quilts and excellent pillows. (Thankfully this motel realizes that a little head support while sleeping is a good thing-the pillows were not the mushy things you often find; rather they were soft but supportive foam.) The writing desk was a real desk finished in a distressed finish with a wooden chair. Although we were at the farthest end of the Inn, the free wi-fi signal was strong. Folded clothes were stored in a lovely dresser over which an antique mirror had been hung. An additional wooden chair, a comfy upholstered chair, a small refrigerator and a microwave completed the furnishings. We were offered a coffee maker when we checked in but declined since coffee and muffins are served in the lobby starting early in the morning. Under the clothes rack near the sink was a beautiful antique-looking storage chest which, although locked, provided a great place for luggage storage. The bathroom was quite nice and appeared to have been recently renovated. The water pressure was great and the shower head provided a nice experience. As dog people, we really appreciated that the floor was hand scraped hardwood and came with a food and water bowl as well as a blanket for out little girl. The Lake Chatuge area has always been one of our favorite places, it not our very favorite place, and we were pleased to learn that the Deerfield Inn could meet all of our needs in such a charming fashion. Check was merely a matter of dropping our key in the drop box. I can happily recommend the Deerfield Inn for short or longer-term stays given its superb location, comfortable furnishings and charming ambience. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 20 was a specific "dog-friendly" room with hardwood floors. Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnMngt, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell of your recent pleasurable experience lodging with us. We will look forward to you returning to stay with us while in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were first time visitors to the Deerfield Inn and cannot say enough about our experience. From the phone call to make our reservation until our departure this was a first class hospitality experience. Over the years we have generally stayed in chain hotels but we decided to visit Western North Carolina for leaf peeking and the Deerfield Inn came up as a possibility. Having stayed in a few independent facilities we were reluctant but let me say that we could not have been more pleased with our visit. We stayed for five nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Maria is an absolute treasure to do business with, so polite and thoughtful. It is more like a B & B than a motel. Clean neat and the view of Lake Chatuge is so beautiful especially at days end when you have returned from a day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: They are all good just depends on what your bed choice is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbobbypayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnMngt, Manager at Deerfield Inn, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you chose us while enjoying a special season. Hopefully we will host you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayesville
5.1 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hiawassee
268 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
653 reviews
14.5 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
261 reviews
15.2 mi away
Best Western Of Murphy
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Inn

Property: Deerfield Inn
Address: 40 Chatuge Ln, Hayesville, NC 28904-6319
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Hayesville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hayesville
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel Hayesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing