We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience”
Review of Anejo Grill

Anejo Grill
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Hayesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff are very friendly and accommodating. I'm in a wheelchair and have a service dog and the treat us wonderfully! They are one of two Mexican restaurants in town, however; Anejo's is the only Mexican restaurant in the Hayesville, NC and Hiawassee, GA area that I would recommend or eat at!!!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank THawkins12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    29
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly great little place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Decided to try Anejo, based on reviews that were here. It's in a little strip mall, so not easy to see from the road. We were greeted at the door as we walked in (a staff person actually opened the door for us). The decor is bright and colorful, but not overwhelmingly so. Everything is very clean--my understanding is that the restaurant is fairly new. Someone brought chips and salsa to our table immediately. Our waiter was attentive, but did not speak English very well at all. He told us of the special, and they had one prepared, with plastic wrap over it, that he brought over to show to us (that was a bit strange to me, but so be it :)).

I had the fajita salad w/ chicken, which was very good. My husband had the stuffed poblano pepper with beef, which was fresh and very well prepared. Our kids both got the ala carte "3 soft tacos", with chicken, etc. We also ordered a queso as an appetizer. All of the food was quite good, very fresh, and very affordable.

They have a fairly extensive beverage list, and the prices are quite reasonable. We shared the "xango" for dessert: a fried taco shell wrapped around cheesecake, served with vanilla icecream, chocolate sauce, and fresh strawberries. It was HUGE and quite tasty.

There are several burger/diner type restaurants in Hayesville, along with one seemingly "reknowned" fine dining restaurant, so this would be a great choice if you are in the area and looking for authentic, well-prepared, fresh southwestern fare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank l4grem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mexican at its' best in Hayesville, NC”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have eaten at Mexican Restaurants all over the USA and Mexico. We even lived in CA for a while, so we have eaten at some wonderful Mexican restaurants. When we moved to this area we just about quit eating Mexican because most in this area were so-so or worse. BUT Añejo Grill brought great sunshine to our lives. We have not had a bad meal there. They make their own Chorizo, Tamales, and many other dishes from scratch. Authentic Mexican Cuisine, friendly and courteous staff. Can't be beat in this area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les_and_Des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“New Mexican restaurant in Hayesville, NC”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This newly opened Mexican restaurant on North Carolina 69 just south of US 64 in Hayesville, NC will be the one to use to compare all others in the area. Initial visit was really great with some minor flaws. Until the wait staff has worked with the menu enough, you will need to point to what you want on the menu. They all speak English but they might not understand your English! The menu is very large and somewhat confusing the way it has been laid out. Also, some descriptions for a dish are not totally complete. The "Chiles Rancheros" is listed as "stuffed with cheese" but it also comes out stuffed with shredded chicken. I had the "Chiles Poblanos" because it stated "stuffed with your choice of shredded chicken or ground beef" One of the best C.P. that I've every had in the area! All I could do was to eat only one of the Poblanos with the refried beans and rice and take the other one home for next days dinner. The "El Paso Dinner" dish was also excellent and a new all time favorite for my wife. All others at our table claimed that this new Mexican restaurant was now their favorite and the one they will frequent the most often. A minor problem one of our friends had was to send their side dish of refied beans and rice back because it was not hot enough for them. Mine was fine - personal taste.

They do not have any drink specials as of yet. The other Mexican place back down the highway always has Dos Equis Amber for $1.60 a 12 oz glass where it's $2.75 here.

Prices were about average for the same type of food in the surrounding area but the quality and presentation was much better than the others offer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Florascope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anejo Grill also viewed

Hayesville, North Carolina Mountains
Hayesville, North Carolina Mountains
 
Hayesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Anejo Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing