We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Copper Door

The Copper Door
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Hayesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hiawassee Street
Description: Fine dining in Historic Hayesville, NC. We feature the finest steaks, fresh seafood and signature dishes to please the discerning palate at prices that won’t break your budget. Come enjoy the intimate atmosphere. Our attentive staff will anticipate your needs and insure that your dining experience is exceptional. We are one block west of the old Clay County Courthouse, next door to Square One Interiors by Design. We are two hours west of Asheville, two hours north of Atlanta and two hours east of Chattanooga. We accept Visa, Discover, and Mastercard.
Young Harris
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I were given a gift card so we went for dinner. The atmosphere was very nice. The service was polite, friendly and prompt. However, our food was just not worth the money. Being that we had a gift card it was hard to be too upset but I kept thinking “Had I been paying for this I would be pretty upset.” With that said, my problem was with the main course, the dessert was very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank giantmetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
I am so sorry you were disappointed in your experience, and entree. I'd love to hear more about what you had for dinner and how you feel we could improve - feel free to email me at ada@thecopperdoor.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    32
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
atlanta, georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have enjoyed several meals and find both the food and service to be excellent. The waiters are knowledgeable and attentive. Enjoy the variety of specials offered as well as the usual items on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you! We're so glad you enjoy the restaurant. Hope you'll have a chance to dine again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cooper Door”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The food was excellent along with our waitress. Disturbing was the fact that we arrived early and asked politely if a table was available. The head waiter guy (bald with a frown the whole time) said very deliberately "your table is occupied". No mention to us that unfortunately there was nothing available at the time.......just in your face your table is occupied. No kidding we arrive 30 minutes early but maybe you can work us in? This was the only bad spot but not what I was expecting right off the start. Everything else was wonderful but the owner/head waiter needs to improve on his table manners.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eeritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We apologize for the unpleasant start to your recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience; we value your input and your patronage. We've addressed the issue and look forward to your next visit.

-Dennis Barber
Chef/Owner at The Copper Door
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Delicious food and excellent service even though with a very large group, Staff very attentive to all our needs. Very pleasant experience. Highly recommend for nice evening out

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bubbe2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We're so glad you had a great evening at The Copper Door! Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The combination of the quality of the food, service and ambiance is tops for the region. I have a second home nearby, and will eat here at least once a week whenever I am in the area. The wine list is noteworthy and their monthly wine pairing dinners are taste and information treats - in fact I schedule some of my visits to the area (from my "permanent" NYC home) around the dates of the wine pairing dinners so that I can attend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada B, Manager at The Copper Door, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
We're always glad to see you on your trips to Hayesville - hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Door also viewed

 

Been to The Copper Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing