We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, clean hotel. Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Havelock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My husband and I recently travelled to North Carolina for the birth of our first grandchild. We chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Havelock. I cannot say enough about the staff, they were, each and every one we encountered, friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was what you would expect for a Holiday Inn - it was clean, the bed was comfy (loved the choice of soft or firm pillows), Our room was showing a few signs of wear - chipped plaster around the air conditioner and in the bathroom - but all in all nice. The air conditioner controller was remote and could be controlled from the bed which was a nice perk. My only issue with the room was that I booked a two room suite - my husband is a night owl and I like to go to bed early - I specifically booked the two room suite so I could close the bedroom door and sleep and he could be in the sitting area. There was, however, no door on the bedroom - so while he did stay in the sitting area watching tv - I could see the light from the tv and could certainly hear it clearly even though he had the volume low. Had I known there was no door, I would have saved the extra expense of two rooms and just booked a regular room since I could see and hear the tv anyway. To me, if there is no door, it isn't two rooms, it is just one big room with two tvs. The breakfast was hot and very good - more than I expected for a complimentary breakfast - pancakes on demand, warm cinnamon rolls, cereal, breads, muffins, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, juices, coffee & tea. The breakfast area was kept well stocked and very clean even late into the breakfast hours. There was also lots of info on local attractions available. If we return to the Havelock area, we would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor and it was very quiet and only a short walk to the elevator. It f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear mollyonh,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay! Congratulations on the birth of your first grandchild! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize about the two room suite and sincerely hope you were able to get a good night's rest. We are glad you got more than you expected with breakfast and were able to easily find information about the area. We look forward to you staying with us next time you are in town visiting.

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 153 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

My daughter and I Came from Pennsylvania to visit my son-in law stationed at Cherry Point. This Hotel was very convenient to everything, easy check-in and check-out. Room was clean and housekeeping did a superb job, staff was very friendly and helpful. Price was affordable, I give this hotel a rating of AAA++++ Please take advantage of the tripadvisor.com for your Hotel ratings like I did, I was so glad that did my research. Had a relative that bragged about how cheap his room was but when we went to his hotel to meet him (his family), the hotel was not clean at all and while we were visiting I was sitting in their room and looked down on the side of the bed and there was a cockroach...long story short, just because you think you got a much cheaper price doesn't mean anything!! Thank you again for a wonderful stay and I will be booking again when I come back down! :) Yvonne Shaffer

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Yvonne S,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay! We are very pleased to hear that your check in and check out was easy, the room was clean, price affordable, and superb housekeeping. We are glad that your research paid off and you enjoyed your stay. I hope your time with your son-in-law was great! We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I needed to stay in Havelock for a few days before we closed on our new home. After traveling all the way across the country with our two dogs, it was important to find a comfortable place for 3 nights that was pet-friendly and this hotel exceeded our expectations. Clean, new, lots of parking, convenient location, fitness center, indoor pool, spacious rooms, excellent breakfast buffet, beautiful decor, free wi-fi, business center, laundry facilities, sundry shop, comfortable beds and linens, and friendly staff. Lisa works at the front desk and couldn't have been more helpful from the time I called the hotel to reserve a room to our entire 3-night stay. Paul was a friendly face in the mornings as we ate breakfast, and Kristin prepared a wonderful breakfast buffet while keeping everything clean and stocked - always with a smile on her face. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area for any period of time. I have stayed in two other Havelock hotels and will never choose them again - The Holiday Inn far exceeds what any of the other hotels offer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear SharonB2,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of our accommodations. Our staff strives to make everyone (even our four legged guests) feel welcome and at home while staying with us. We appreciate the compliments and the recommendation!

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Came from California to visit my son who just got home from deployment. Had a wonderful time. All the employees were very nice and always said hi or how was your day, etc. when we walked by the front desk. The room was clean whenever we came back to it. Loved having the breakfast in the morning. When my daughter got down there as they were putting the food away (after breakfast was done) they put it back so my daughter could get some. So accommodating. Loved that you had a choice of pillows as it stated on the pillow cover whether it was firm or soft.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 977DonnaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear 977DonnaB,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay! We are very happy to hear your son is home from deployment and you got to come for a visit! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and the wonderful compliments. We strive to make all our guests feel welcome and at home. I hope you will stay with us again if you come back to the area.

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel was spotless, beautiful design in the lobby. We received a warn welcome at the front desk. Cindy the Manager was taking care of us and she recommended a restaurant that was everything she described as excellent food. Our suite was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. Definitely will come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: The King Suite is the best choice for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erika H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Erika H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay! I am pleased to hear you received a warm welcome and Cindy's recommendation was great. Thank you for the compliments and we hope you will be back to stay with us soon!

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Upside: Clean facility with a friendly, helpful staff. Wonderful breakfast buffet! I would stay there again if I was traveling down there. Downside: Corridor noise at times and people disregarding pool rules...staff either wasn't monitoring and didn't notice or they didn't want to deal with it.

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor room which was nice because of the convenience. However we could hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Debbie M,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay! We are so happy that you enjoyed our facility, staff, and breakfast. I apologize for the corridor noise and people disregarding the pool rules. Thank you for bringing this to our attention so we can monitor it better. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again if you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Nice hotel, close to the Marine base, Cherry Point. Everyone on the staff that we met, was friendly and helpful. The front desk clerks always spoke when we were coming and going. The room was clean and very comfortable. The bed was wonderful. Having a firm pillow and soft pillow made the bed perfect (we would love to know what kind of pillows they are). The A/C in the bedroom portion of our room was remote controlled so we could change it from the bed (if we wanted a different temp in the night - loved that). We got a room with a whirlpool tub in the bathroom. After a long trip getting to Havelock, that was super relaxing. The breakfast was better than most hotels - I loved the pancake machine - and the fresh, hot cinnamon rolls were great. They had eggs and sausage - bacon on other days - biscuits, gravy, toast, bagels, yogurt, fruit. About anything you need; and the breakfast area was clean and well-kept. We didn't get into the indoor pool but it looked clean and inviting.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingFromTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear TravelingFronTN,

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay! We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. Since breakfast is the most important meal of the day, we strive to make it delicious! Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will stay with us again if you come back to Havelock, NC.

Sincerely,
Melinda Mowry
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Havelock
Hampton Inn Havelock
#1 of 7 in Havelock
330 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 7 in Havelock
31 reviews
15.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
796 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Havelock
Quality Inn Havelock
#6 of 7 in Havelock
51 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock

Address: 103 Branchside Rd, 105 Tourist Center Dr, Havelock, NC 28532-8002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Havelock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Havelock
Price Range: $94 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Havelock boasts 95 single, double, and executive style suites. Kitchenettes, jet bathtubs, and glass showers are among the upgraded amenities. All hotel rooms are equipped with a microwave, refrigerator, flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, daily newspaper, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. We offer a Complimentary hot breakfast each morning consisting of fruit, hot/cold cereal, assorted bakery items, eggs, pancakes, biscuits, gravy sausage and our famous cinnamon rolls. For your convenience we offer complimentary use of our business center, fitness room, and indoor pool. The Holiday Inn Express is centrally located near various restaurants, MCAS Cherry Point, Coastal Carolina Regional Airport, Atlantic Beach and is only fifteen minutes from downtown New Bern. We look forward to making your stay a relaxing and enjoyable one!** If you have trouble finding our location on a GPS please use the address 201 Tourist Center Dr. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Havelock
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock Hotel Havelock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing