We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family/friends all enjoyed their 3 night stay.”
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family/friends all enjoyed their 3 night stay.”
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We had a family reunion on Hatteras Island in July, rented a large home, but other family and friends wanted to join us so I booked rooms at the Breakwater Inn so they could enjoy the local scenery at Oden's Dock, have water views from the balcony, covered parking for their cars, excellent breakfast place across the street and top-quality restaurant for a great dinner right at the Breakwater Inn next door. They all traveled from the South via the Ocrakoke Ferry, very convenient. Rooms were clean, desk personnel very pleasant. My husband and I have a reservation for mid September to stay 3 nights and join the Hatteras at the Dock day celebration which is held every year, celebrating the recovery from the Hurricane in 2003, which has a chowder cook-off, crab picking, many activities for young children - fishing games, etc. This is a family run motel, open all year, operated by local owners who have lived on Hatteras a long time and are well respected. Hope this review will encourage you to make a visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albantq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    36
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
31
61
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Quite frankly, this suite was nowhere near the price we paid for it. The airconditioner did not work in the master bedroom and both units in the suite had black mold growing in them. The ceiling fans had, no kidding, about 1/4" of dust on the blades. We asked the desk to correct these problems immediately upon our arrival but only the AC unit was fixed and most of the black mold was cleaned out of the vents. My husband had to clean the fans. That evening I went to take a Jacuzzi and black plant material came out of the jets. There was also black mold in the intake. I gave up and purchased a bottle of Clorox from the hardware store next door and cleaned it as well as the rest of the bathroom. My husband also cleaned out debris from the showerhead since most of the water outlets from it were clogged with debris of some sort. The sheets and pillows had stains on them, the frame on our TV was cracked badly and my nightstand had dust on it thick enough that I could run my finger through it, and yes, after the maid came the next day, it was still there!

The only good things about this hotel were the location, the dumbwaiter, the pool and the beautiful view of the soundfront from the balcony of our room. We also met some very nice other people staying at the hotel as well.

As for customer service, our original person who waited on us at the front desk was trying to be helpful and was at the mercy of the hotel owner to get our repairs done since he was also maintenance, but later when my husband went down to chat with the front desk again, he had to wait for a new clerk to get off of her personal cell phone before she would speak with him--not even an-"I'll be with you in just a minute sir." Needless to say, we were very disappointed and do not plan on staying there again or recommending this to any other families.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights and we really enjoyed the view from our balcony. You can watch the boats leave early in the mornings and then watch them return in the evenings with their catch of the day. The room was clean as well as the bathroom. The hotel staff was very friendly. We would recommend staying here anytime. The only drawback is that the WiFi is spotty at best, but hey, you ARE on vacation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCSunkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

An unassuming building was a pleasant surprise. Rooms were nicely decorated & spotless; the bathroom was small but well appointed. The rooms also have a small kitchen area with a refrigirator, coffee machine and sink and a microwave. The balcone was good size with two comfortable chairs and a table. A great place to sit and watch the a sunset over the Sound and the busy fishing boat marina below us [the Oden's Dock]. It could be a bit noisy for some but when we stayed there, by 10pm, the Dock was basically "closed up" and quiet thus we had a good night's sleep. The Breakwater Restaurant is right on the Dock, with great views of the Sound. The restaurant had an interesting and varied menu and the food was superb. A small but intresting wine list and friendly service. A local hang out with a flavor of sofistication. The hotel is less than 5 minutes away from the ferry to Orcacoke.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explore-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We have stayed at other motels and Inns at OBX. This by far outshines all of the others. We had a deluxe room overlooking the sound. Everything was GREAT!!! Can't wait to go back. We won't be staying anyplace else.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaDB.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed at the Breakwater Inn in August 2008; I stayed here last year as well. I was not happy with the room last year and would have stayed somewhere else, however I was part of group and they made the arrangements.
The rooms are not very clean and smell musty; one of our parties was able to change to another room because of the condition of the first room. Our room was missing curtains on the two back windows. After complaining several times, I was forced to hang towels over the windows. The TV remote didn't work when we checked in, I complained before leaving for the day. That evening I found a used universal remote on the bed with the instruction book on how to program it to work with the TV. When we checked out at the end of our stay my wife complained and was given a discount. Two weeks later one of the other people in the group was double charged on their credit card. When they questioned the charge, they were told that we did not pay for our room. After sending a copy of our paid receipt they remove the charge. About five weeks later the hotel charged my credit card for the amount of the discount we had been given. Their reasoning was that they changed their minds about the discount and added it back on my card.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Substandard room, unauthorized charges on my credit card
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SCUBA4892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, NC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

When we arrived at The Breakwater Inn we were so glad to find we had found a nice place over the telephone as many rooms were booked at the Outerbanks. We were glad and the deck and view was spectacular! I would recommend this property to anyone! It is also convenient that Oden's Restaurants is right next door. You can walk to eat and shop which is also great!

  • Liked — The View and the deck and chairs to relax in
  • Disliked — The scary looking hotel that is next to the nice Breakwater Inn that is part of the Hotel as well!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayberryTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
10.3 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
7.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
1.0 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
10.4 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Property: The Breakwater Inn
Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakwater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing