We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update - 5 Years later”
Review of The Breakwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Breakwater Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Update - 5 Years later”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The last time we stayed in the Fisherman Quarters, I had nothing but raves. This second and final time we will ever stay here again was horrendous!! First of all, they claim they have free Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi in the visitor's handbook says it is inconsistent. It should say Non-existent. Never got a signal the whole stay. If we got connected, which was rarely, as soon as you tried to go to a website, the connection ended. The floor had not been cleaned, our socks got filthy after just a few minutes of walking on the floor. The shower was either scalding hot or freezing cold, almost impossible to get a nice shower. The pressure of the shower was so bad, I could not get the shampoo and conditioner completely out of my hair. My hair felt greasy the whole time. There was no coffee pot in the room or hair dryer. The mattress had to have been 10 years or more older, very uncomfortable and the pillows were so old and worn out, it was like not having any at all. I requested extra towels for the whole time due to my long hair. The maid never left more than the minimum of 2 towels, no toilet paper left daily either (had to go to the office to request it).

Room Tip: If you have a pet, find another hotel. The conditions in this hotel seems to have gotten worse. Ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silentmystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakwaterinn, Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. The Breakwater Inn values the opinions of our customers and always appreciates feedback. We strive to offer our guests a clean and comfortable stay and are sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

The Fisherman's Quarters Pet Friendly/Smoking room that you chose is a standard motel room. We work hard to keep these rooms clean, however they are very basic. The amenities that you were looking for such as free wireless, coffee pots and hairdryers, are available in our Sound Front rooms. Unfortunately the Front Desk was not aware of your housekeeping needs and would have been more than happy to make sure you got the extra items you needed. If we had known of your problems we also would have moved you to a room that was more satisfactory.

Again the Breakwater Inn is sorry that you had a disappointing stay. We do hope you will come back again and we wish you the very best.
Sincerely,
Stephanie Snead
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    36
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
31
61
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our first stay in Hatteras was here and we found the whole experience very pleasing. We stayed in the main part of the inn. Rooms were clean and done every day for us. The desk staff were friendly and helpful. The location of this inn is nice since I like to fish and I was able to walk down to the dock and bother the fish. Don't miss going out on the Capt'n Clam, a fishing charter that goes out twice a day. You get a discount on your room if you do and the price of the fishing is reasonable and a good deal of fun for a couple of hours.

I would recommend The Breakwater Inn to anyone. There is plenty of surf for swimming and fishing, and the people on the island are darn friendly! A good deal for the price, especially on off season. We are going back in two weeks. Looking forward to it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YORKTOWN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

While the main hotel is nice looking and photos well, don't underestimate the fisherman's quarters. Clean, comfy, and CHEAP! I am picky, and this place doesn't look at all like sometihng I would have enjoyed as much as I did from the photos, or even standing in the parking lot looking at it, but in the end, loved it for some reason. I think the ceramic tile floor helped it seem clean or something. We have a dog, which is allowed in the quarters, so I'm glad we were forced to stay there instead of the Breakwater. Also, shout out to Patrick and the Little Clam, best decision ever to charter them. If you like watching the charters come and go, it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blaire757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Love it for the overall value, especially relative to other available hotels/motels in the OBX. Paid $150+ on an extremely busy island weekend where nearly every single place was booked in the entire OBX.

Our favorite thing about this hotel is its location, waterfront on the sound (not ocean obviously), right in front of Oden's Dock, "the" place where fishermen get their boats ready to go out in the morning, and where they return with their catch later in the day to sell, and even clean right there. Cool to go down and watch the latter after you check in late afternoon, and cool to get up with morning coffee at 6am and watch the former right from your balcony in the morning. Charter boats, fishermen, sea gulls, waterfront, cool, really neat.

Room was comfy and clean. A bit dated, older looking rooms with one of those wall unit a/c's that runs constantly on a dial setting (as opposed to holding a digital temp), but at least a flat screen tv, and again, was comfy and clean so gets the job done. Had a coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave even. Hey, other than condos that require longer stays and cost more, there aren't many options anyway, so this worked out just fine.

Nice front desk gals both days, sweet treats in the lobby when we arrived in the afternoon as well as checked out in the am, coffee as well.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are pretty much the same, all with balcony views so doesn't much matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jboynsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
188 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Clean as a whistle, wonderful cheerful staff, and the best views across the Pamlico sound on the island. Oden's dock is right out the back door, and you can catch the fleet unload their catch.

Walk over to their restaurant, the Breakwater, and relax on the back porch and watch the sun set! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the soundside have the best view on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandSunSurf85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed for one night off-season (April) and selected the hotel as all others require a two night stay. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. I had to hold the toilet seat up, but other than that the bathroom was fine. My room had a microwave and refrigerator. The restaurant next door (sorry, I forgot the name) was excellent with a friendly staff. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous. I can't say how quiet the hotel would be in-season (there was one other guest that night), Watching the boats arrive back to the marina was cool, but even more cool was watching the USCG boats doing some tricks off the breakwater. These are 60 ft fast-boats that seem to turn on a dime.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main building are elevated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny2Dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our room - well all the rooms actually - have private porches looking over the marina and the sound beyond, and it provided a beautiful sunset view for us during our one-night stay in Hatteras. The hotel is pretty basic but clean and comfortable. Located near the ferry and across from a great little breakfast place. If you're a fisherman with a boat ... this place is great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
10.3 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
1.0 mi away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#8 of 11 in Hatteras Island
46 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
294 reviews
10.4 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
277 reviews
10.4 mi away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Property: The Breakwater Inn
Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakwater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing