We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice museum”

Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum
Attraction details
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I'm not sure I would go too far out of my way to visit the museum, but we did enjoy it and it was free (although we did add a bit of money to the donation area). Ship history and artifacts, civil war artifacts, some lighthouse artifacts. Cute little gift shop. If you are hear Hatteras, it is worth a visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kledfoodlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    152
    71
    19
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a neat little museum. My husband is a bit of a history buff, so he enjoyed it. I think it would be more appealing if it had more "stuff". It's only one big room and a little gift shop. It's neat for what they do have, PLUS it's free.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Halia77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Place to Visit”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My father and I have always wanted to see what this museum had to offer so he and I took off late in the day for a visit (no one else in our group wanted to make the trek) We should have checked the hours because we only had about 45 minutes before closing by the time we arrived. There is no fee...just a donation of your choice.

The exhibits were interesting and informative and we could have used a little more time to explore everything. The pirate exhibit would be fun for the kids. I enjoyed the small section on Titanic where the SOS message to Cape Hatteras had been recd.

We definitely have a return visit on our list of things to do...when the weather is a little foul. No need to give up beach time otherwise.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FunLuvinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool looking building!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great place to go when everyone is tired of the beach. A lot of things to look at and learn about.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small but for most part informative”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We found the museum's exhibits on the Monitor and on the rich history of piracy around the OBX both interesting and informative - my wife was particularly taken by the stories of Anne Bonny and Mary Read. As a visitor from England however I found the War of 1812 exhibits a touch too subjective for comfort! Still, it was free entry and I was only a guest in the country. A great way to pass an hour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Annakrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum also viewed

 
Hatteras, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing