We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, on the beach behind the dunes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gull Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Gull Motel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Johns Creek, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, on the beach behind the dunes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed here one night on our way to Ocracoke this past Sept. Fairly new looking motel, very clean but ordinary rooms; we thought rooms were somewhat expensive for what they were. It's on the beach though you can't see ocean from the rooms due to the dunes. They do have stairs and a boardwalk over the dunes. We enjoyed sitting on the beach and watching a roiling ocean due to an approaching storm.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeannelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

Rooms exceptionally clean. Staff friendly. Price excellent. Location awesome.... right on beach. Rooms, however do not face ocean, so no view from room. But a quick walk over the sand dune and the beach is right there. The sleep quality was not so good. The walls and ceiling are very thin. We could hear our neighbor talking on the phone and their toddler dropped toys on the tile floor till 11:30 at night. They have a pool which is very nice and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FromPA__10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We were on Hatteras just around dark and needed a place to sleep for the night. I thought the rate was expensive for the quality of the room and the facility. The mattresses were terrible even the bottom falling out of 1 of them and the room was really bare only 1 picture on the wall. The bathroom was very small, you even had to close the door to get to the toilet paper roll. As my review title states, "nothing special" but certainly better than sleeping outside and cleaner than I anticipated. The location with the ocean just over the dunes is probably the best thing about this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Had some issues with check in as we booked the two room apartment at the motel but were conveniently "switched" to a cottage... they said the cottage was within walking distance to the motel and beach... cottage was on the sound and a solid mile or two from the hotel. We got switched back but they booked the apartment the last few days of our trip so I'm assuming that's why they tried to switch us... no compensation was made, which was pretty lame.

Outside of that, the two bedroom room was nice... clean and had a nice kitchenette. When we switched to the two single rooms one was a smoking room, or at least it smelled that way, so that wasn't very pleasant.

The pool is very nice and a great location with very little traffic. The beach access was top notch and we could leave our stuff on the beach.

Overall, if you want to be in the Village of Hatteras area this is a great motel... quite and nice and not very spendy, especially if you get the two bedroom apt for a large family.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reimersnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

great motel! clean rooms, private beach, pool. Located in Hatteras Village, great food all around, and about 3 mins to the Ocracoke ferry. Will def go back, great place for the price

  • Liked — walking distance to beach and great seafood
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jaredbeach2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

This nice little hotel is everything you need for a peaceful Hatteras Island visit. We stayed here with our two small children in July, and seemed to be the only "family" there (it seemed to mostly have couples enjoying the quiet). The hotel was not fully booked while we were there, and we were often the only ones using the pool. We were originally booked for four nights, but ended up staying an extra night because we were having so much fun.

The small size of this hotel gives it a nice "homey" feeling; the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Our room was always clean and stocked with all we needed.

The vacationers enjoyed sitting out in front of their rooms reading and chatting from time to time. The beach is just over the dune, and views were available from the second floor. We'll definitely be staying at this hotel the next time we visit the Outer Banks!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OBXerNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2006

A brief overnight stay at the Seagull was awesome. My room was pretty and bright and clean, with nice decor. The hotel is brand new, having been completely rebuilt after Isabel. Every room seems to have a view of the ocean. The office staff was friendly and professional. The pool was very nice. The beach is gorgeous in front of the hotel. And the price was incredibly low for a pretty little oceanfront motel. I loved it!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Barefoot4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
9.5 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
1.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 12 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Motel

Property: Sea Gull Motel
Address: Rte. 12, Box 280, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Gull Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gull Hotel Hatteras Island
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing