We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Gull Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Gull Motel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our second time staying here. While it is an older motel it has been updated and we really enjoyed our stay.
We were on our motorcycle with friends and stayed in the 2 bedroom "apartment". It was clean, neat and affordable.
We would definitely stay there once again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gamby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very clean, Everything had been redone recently, tile carpet, curtains. All clean & nice even the bathrooms. Office staff & maids very friendly. Walk up the walk-way & you are on a very nice WIDE beach. We stayed on second floor. No real views from there. Pool was nice & had been redone in tile too. Price w tax for two nights in Sep was $250. The OBX are expensive! even in the off season. Nice micro/ fridge too in room & a small table. You can't really walk anywhere from there except on that gorgeous beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeslieL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The room appeared to have been redone. It was a nice tile flooring, beautiful pale yellow walls, and the bath was nice and large. The ac worked great. The toilet was a little slow on the bottom floor but no real problems. The location was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra30238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manns Harbor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We began our stay in Hatteras at another motel, but moved to this one and we were glad that we did. It is old-style, but clean and comfortable! It has good working internet (something our other, more pricey motel had difficulties with). And best of all for my wife who is a beach person, it is right on the beach, just walk out of your room and over the dunes. The price was also very reasonable. When we visit Hatteras again, it will be our first choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a typical old style traveler's motel. It is close to the beach and we found that that was about it. No food, very little amenities and at a price that would get you much more. Our suggestion was to continue south until Hatteras, or find a nice Bed and Breakfast in the area.
By the way, we didn't enjoy the sand on our tile floors.

Room Tip: keep going.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NzlanderOnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This mom and pop motel was perfect for us. We stayed in room 108 and it had 2 large beds plus a daybed with a trundle. it slept our family of 5 with room to spare. The linens and towels were dated and a bit worn but the place was spotless. i would certainly book that room again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 2autigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed here when I was a kid. We took mom back to see it, she as Alzheimer's. she really enjoyed it. My husband is not a beach guy, but even he say it was perfect! Staff treated us like family. Grandbaby and I had a blast going to the beach every morning looking for shells. We are going back next year...

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mwill1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
9.5 mi away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
1.0 mi away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 12 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 6 in Hatteras Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Gull Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gull Motel

Property: Sea Gull Motel
Address: Rte. 12, Box 280, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Hatteras Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Gull Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gull Hotel Hatteras Island
Comfort Inn Hatteras Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing