We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives”

The Hatterasman Drive In
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

While this place is far from an elegant dining experience, it is a great find and should be on your Hatteras Island restaurant list. The fried fish is excellent. I particularly like the fried founder sandwich. It's delicious and the portions are huge. They have recently added fried chicken to their menu, but I haven't tried it yet. I urge you to overlook the lack of ambience and try this Hatteras landmark.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrietKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    50
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Nothing to look at, but good burgers and really good shoestring fries. Not fast food, made-to-order so it's fresh

Helpful?
Thank judy1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Must have!!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We come here every time we come to the outer banks. Its a dump... BUT they have the best food!!! Dont judge the book by the cover just go!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hairbyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best burgers and flounder sandwhich on the island!!!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very casual atmosphere.... the place where the locals go. Step up to the window and place your order .... nothing is bad on this menu. Have a seat and wait to be delighted!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteo, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quick, Easy, Good”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We often stop here on our way to or from Ocracoke Island. The Fried oyster sandwich is excellent, and while a couple of my pals don't like the fries....I think they're awesome. If there are desserts, they're usually excellent. Homemade. This place is what it is. They only accept cash, so be prepared, or walk to the ATM about a block away. Oh, and the folks inside are SUPER nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buckeyebrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hatterasman Drive In also viewed

Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 

Been to The Hatterasman Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing