We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood - but only take cash” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hatterasman Drive In

The Hatterasman Drive In
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
224 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great seafood - but only take cash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This place has great food - my sister said it was the best shrimp she's ever eaten - the fries are great also. It's very small and they only take cash, but wish we lived closer so we could go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TN-Traveler38017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    49
    16
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome food, really awesome food, terrible milkshake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The fries are amazing and our family of six ate the hot food and loved everything we had. I actually threw away the milkshake after one sip...and that has never happened before. Still, we go back every chance we can. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonWysiwyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Go for the crab cake and fries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

So the atmosphere may be downscale but the food better than most on the island. Tiny so carryout might be good option. Crab cake divine and pulled pork great. The shoe string fries addictive.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hole-in-the-wall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Fantastic crabcake sandwiches, one of the best crabcakes we've ever had, great sauce to go along with it as well. Shoestring fries were even exceptional, just a great experience. Would have never thought it while driving by or looking at the outside.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great spot for after fishing eats.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This is our go to spot after a long day on the water. After we clean the boat (and hopefully some fish) we head over here to grab dinner before going home.

The fish and crabcake sandwiches are our preferences. Never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PboroBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hatterasman Drive In also viewed

Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
 
Hatteras Island, Outer Banks
Hatteras, Hatteras Island
 

Been to The Hatterasman Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing