We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Location”

Cape Hatteras National Seashore
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Outer Banks Horseback Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A national seashore preserve that has the most extensive stretch of undeveloped seashore along the Atlantic coast.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super Location”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The sun. The sand. The ocean. The untamed beauty. It just doesn't get any better that this! Great beaches! Lots to see and do during the summer season.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank owlsandbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    54
    13
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“So sad what the Park Service has done!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed in Hatteras for 22 years and have contributed thousands of dollars to the community. Thus we have been able to witness the destruction of the area by the National Park Service, all in the name of protection of a relatively small number of birds and turtles. People who love the ethereal beauty of the area often use ORV to access the point. Before the absurd restrictions, people - not fox and other predatory species, avoided nests and breeding areas.People who go to Hatteras rather than the gentrified Duck and Corolla and Nags head, go for beauty, peace and quiet and nature. Now access is denied for most of the tourist season. Even to pedestrians. Knowing that the point was now rarely opened until August, we pushed back our time confident it would be open, and dutifully paid $120 for our year long ORV pass. Well, we were foiled as two nests closed the point until we left two weeks later. But lets not talk about we the tourists, let's talk about the inhabitants of Hatteras whose ancestors deeded the shore to the NPS. Are those people now rolling over in their graves to see the livelihood of their decendents cut off. Look at the closed businesses. Look at the charters sitting in docks. When a turtle was caught in a net, the govt closed all commercial fishing for 2-3 months. Pretty soon, Hatteras Island will be like the deserted Portsmouth Island - home to birds and skeeters, but no humans. It is too bad that this area is not favored by the government - there must not be enough votes to garner support. So Sad

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very pretty.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed driving through the area. Nice bird center there too where you can walk out and look for some of the birds that are on the reserve. And the views from the top of the dunes was wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank trvlinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ticks”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just a warning - if you go into the woods or along any grassy areas you will pick up a lot of ticks. We pulled dozens off our dogs and it was not a great experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank curtreich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful area”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We loved the whole national seashore thing. From one end to the other it was awesome to visit all the sites and national areas.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra30238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Hatteras National Seashore also viewed

 
Frisco, Hatteras Island
 

Been to Cape Hatteras National Seashore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing