We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, historic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Inn of the Patriots B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Grover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 24, 2011

You couldn't ask for better hosts than Marti and Stormy -- and of course their beautiful daughter Rania! And what more can you ask for breakfast than to have it prepared by a Former Executive Chef to the White House?! Situated in a quaint town on the edge of the NC/SC state border, there is the opportunity to stroll around the neighborhood or jump in the car for a short trip to any of a number of local attractions. I highly recommend the Inn of the Patriots to anyone looking for a fun and relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rvabusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 199 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

One of the most entertaining weekends ever! Chef Marti is a fabulous cook and storyteller. We loved our cooking lesson. Additionally, he is a historian and told colorful stories about the area. The location is full of charm in small-town North Carolina and easy to access from I85. Marti has a treasure trove of memorabilia from his military experience, as well as his years in the White House/Camp David. He provided one of the most entertaining weekends ever! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Purchased a Social Living special, which included a cooking class. The cooking class was posted as an additional $100 price, which was to include a cooking class with a former chef in the White House, and an autographed cook book. The Inn is FILLED with stuff....everywhere. It was diffucultt to find a space in our room to unpack, due to there being something on every surface...including the fake, often used, rose petals that adorned our bed and that we cleaned up. The "private bath" was a tiny closet with a toilet in it, and another tiny closet with a shower insert- very similar to showering on a boat (size wise). The sink was in the bedroom and the other side of the room from the toilet closet. Breakfast was good. The cooking class was a joke. We paid $100 per person to be taught how to make "red sauce" otherwise known as spagetti sauce -using 5 cans of tomato paste; as well as "alfredo sauce" using 4 lbs of cream cheese! Accompanied by frozen meatballs and Sam's Club frozen tortellini. The "cook book" was about a 12 page phamplet of recipes....not what one would have envisioned as a signed, autorgraphed cookbook by a former chef of the White House. The only saving grace to the weekend was the other guests, who were as equally "amazed" with the creative marketing. If it weren't for the other guests, we would have left, and they all said the same thing. This is the only harsh review we have ever written, but one that is well deserved. Buyer beware on this one.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank NancyOO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin M, Manager at The Inn of the Patriots B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

We remain committed to excellence and building our small inn up better and better. Rome was not built in a day and we do seek helpful and kind feedback of loving ideas.

We understood that you folks had a tremendous argument with one another and that was unfortunate. Three guests mentioned the heated exchange in your room could be heard in the hallway and one guest had mentioned they were concerned.

Please don't then take these things out on the owners and caring family with misplaced anger. Thank you for supporting US Military, disabled veterans businesses trying to do and become better. We always seek ideas to make our inn better in writing in each room in the welcome letter, in our four page comment cards in each room and highly encourage folks to speak with us about any issue while staying - so that we can immediately fix it, correct it or make up for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

My wife found this B&B through Living Social and bought it for our Christmas present.
Marti, the owner, and his wife Stormy are both former Navy cooks and Marti was chef at Camp David and the White House. They are also involved in Revolutionary War re-enactments. So the Inn has a lot of memorabilia decorating it.
We had the Commander Cleaveland room which was very large, with a king-size bed and private bath. It was very comfortable.
The breakfasts were very good, with a nice variety of foods making them well-balanced.
My wife also bought me a cooking class with Chef Marti, which was a lot of fun. Five students and Chef Marti cooked dinner. Marti took us through everything form planning to serving. He has a very laid-back style that manages to produce a superior meal.
There are a lot of things to do around the area, in spite of being "in the country". We visited King's Mountain National Park on our way home, which was fascinating.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DanaKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We came hoping our B&B would be peaceful and enjoyable and it was all that. The rooms are beautiful with antiques, very clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious and filling! Our hosts were very accomodating and informative. In their backyard a Revolutionary War theme was set up with tent, table, bed, chopped wood, outhouse and more. The front porch is lined with pretty white rocking chairs to relax in. We took a ride into Kings Mountain and walked the trails, it was a beautiful day. Thanks to Chef Marty, a cool character dressed in Revolutionary war outfit. Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank keysgirldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I went to the Inn of the Patriots for my birthday/Valentine's Day and it was amazing. The family was so friendly and accommodating. The entire place had such a warm feel where we feel comfortable like we were at home, but had the fun of being on vacation. Our room was so interesting that we took pictures of us just with the decorations. I normally don't sleep well in other beds, but our bed was incredibly comfortable. Breakfast was so amazing I wish we could have taken a cooking lesson with Chef Marty. Definite worth a visit, and maybe we will return again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bthoma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We purchased a Living Social deal for a weekend at the Inn of the Patriots, not really knowing what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a bigger room with a private bath. The house was very quiet, and full of charm. Everything was decorated - there was so much to look at (in a good way).

Marti was an executive chef under the Clinton administration, so I had high expectations about the breakfasts, which were surpassed. He had some great stories on his tour, and the service was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katefulcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn of the Patriots B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn of the Patriots B & B

Address: 301 Cleveland Ave, Grover, NC 28073-8571
Location: United States > North Carolina > Grover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grover
Price Range: $104 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn of the Patriots B & B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Diamond ranked Inn with former Executive Chef to the President of the United States. Featured on CNN Worldwide, FOX, PBS television and Wheel of Fortune. Located in quaint Grover, NC - doorstep of the famed Kings Mountain Battlefield. Outside of Charlotte, NC on I-85. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn of the Patriots B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Of The Patriots Bed And Breakfast
The Inn Of The Patriots Hotel Grover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing