We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Greenville
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Do not stay at this hotel. My experience was awful. When I checked into the first room the air conditioner did not work. I was switched to another room and the air conditioner was only marginally better. It was so loud there was no way I was going to sleep. The door to the room would not close and the light above the bathroom sink did not work. After taking off my shoes, I noticed the rug was soaking set. When I asked for a refund, I was told I would not receive my monies for 5 to 7 business days. I had prepaid my stay four days in advance. Spare yourself and never stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel. FInd another hotel to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motel6greenville, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thank you for you reponse. As of May 30, 2012 we are under new ownership and new management. We welcome you to visit our property again and you will note a lot of changes happening very quickly. Addressing your concerns from your previous stay, new air conditioners have been installed in several rooms as of this past Saturday (June 16) and all the units are scheduled to be serviced in the next two weeks. I'm unsure if it was a member of our staff or the previous staff that made the comment about 5-7 days for your money to be refunded. If it was a cash payment, a refund should have been made immediately. For credit and debt cards, it can take up to 7 business days - this is due to the way credit cards are processed and is a standard among all hotels. I hope you will consider our hotel in the future and will come see the renovations once we have them completed. Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

we couldnot find rooms on weekend in better brand so end up with staying in motel-6.Didnot expect much .glad to see clean room.old building need some attention.Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: donot take room on 2nd building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

My wife & I were in Greenville for my sons graduation and decieded to save some money by staying here for four nights 12/16-12/20/09. We had stayed here 4 years before and it wasn't too bad at that time. We knew it wasn't the best choice this time but we felt we would be coming back late from our sons apartment and leaving early and only be sleeping & showering there.
We arrived late, 1am. They put us on the second floor near the end, #214, in the rear or middle building facing Red Banks Road. At first we thought that would be great. Out of the way. Back of the property. Quiet. BIG MISTAKE!! HUGE MISTAKE. The first night when we walked up the stairs to the room, the door to the room at the top of the stairs was opened a crack ( no pun on later words ). We thought that was strange but when we finally went to bed, we could here and see cars, taxies and people coming and going all night visiting the "open door room". We figured someone was using the room to sell drugs because by morning the occupant was gone. This room looks well used for this.
The next morning I mentioned what happened last night to the front desk and she said nothing! We paid for another night and hoped for the best. At least the dealings the night before were fairly quiet. Thursday and Friday night were pritty uneventful.
The rooms are in major need of updating, at least in the middle building. Beds were comfortable, plenty of hot water, bathroom was clean although the tub had something all over the floor. There were holes in the chair, holes in the bedspread, holes in the drity curtians, the first alert fire alarm had a plastic bag over it and the heater didn't work on low speed.
Returning to our room on Saturday night late again,1am, we found the parking lot full of cars and people. Mostly African Americans. People coming and going like it was noon. Partying, drinking, swearing and yelling. On the stairwell to the second floor we passed people just hanging out. We got to our room, closed and locked the door, turned the heater fan on hi to mask any outside noise and thought we would have an OK night. NOT!! For an hour it sounded like someone was getting thrown into the walls. The floors and walls were shaking and doors were slamming. Finally at 2am I called the front desk and told her I was calling the police. She said it was the motel employee Christmas party and couldn't stop it. I said "right next to a guest's room?" After further investigation she said the Christmas party was in a different building. She said she had the sheriff right there and he will take care of it. He did quiet it down for a little while. 5am same thing! I called the front office again and she answered " YAH ". Sheriff was sent again.
When we left in the morning there was trash, beer cans, bottles, chicken bones, all over the parking lot including used condoms.
We knew it was a roll of the dice to stay here so we payed one day at a time. After that night and what we found the next morning, we would not have stayed another night nor will we ever stay there again. BUYER BEWARE! YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

I paid $36 and have no complaints. Actually, I was shocked the King room had both a fridge and microwave! Plenty of $100+ rooms lack those basic of amenities. The bed was large and comfortable, no shortage of hot water in the morning for a shower, and the A/C kept me nice and cool on a hot night. I didn't expect any more than that for what I paid, and had no noise complaints or any other problems during my one night stay.

I never saw bugs, or rodents in the room. The room was clean and up to my standards again based on the price paid. If you want nice aesthetics, go somewhere else and pay $100+, but don't be surprised if you don't get a fridge and microwave in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank A1B1C1D1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Hi there! What a mess! I went to Greenville to move my daughter in for move in weekend. Greenville, as most college towns, should be avoided during move in weekend!

This Motel 6 is ok. My wife wanted to use the CSI blue light and red light to look at and identify the stains on the carpet, bedspread, and my choice was that we should not want to know! The bugs are actually present as noted in other reviews. My wife said that the roach on the bathroom wall was unacceptable; I found him to be quite personable until he met my wife's shoe. I located his next of kin and let them know we were sorry for the loss. Bottom line is that my daughter's version of 'this place is great' does not translate to the expectations of a 41 year old spouse who is used to the caliber of a Marriott Courtyard. Needless to say we did fine, but please understand that this is a place to stay, fine for a guy, college student on their own dime, etc...

The price is GREAT! $35.99 online is fine. I recommend it for the dad moving the child in, the child on a budget, etc but please avoid with a spouse!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

I have never seen a dirty hotel room like this before. It was just plain nasty. The bathroom had hair all over the toilet seat, there was no bath tissue in the room. At all! There was only one washcloth in the room and that had some kind of a stain on it. No other towels. The furniture was old, outdated. Needless to say, I Did Not spend the night there. Outside of the old looking building there were a couple of, what seemed like, homeless people hanging around. Just walking around and around the hotel. I didn't find this place safe or clean enough for my children.
I do not recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Ferike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
36
Reviewed August 25, 2004

have never actually stayed at a Motel before, but arrived here late at night after getting into Greenville Airport. reception was open and had everything sorted so i could get to my room straight away and sleep. bathroom floor was dirty, but apart from that it was clean and lots of room. no breakfast included except coffee, assuming you drink coffee, which i dont. Waffle house across the road do fantastic waffles though.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenville
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Greenville
Quality Inn Greenville
#14 of 22 in Greenville
60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Greenville
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
InTown Suites Greenville
InTown Suites Greenville
#11 of 22 in Greenville
13 reviews
17.9 mi away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#6 of 7 in Washington
20 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Greenville
Econo Lodge Greenville
#16 of 22 in Greenville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 301 SE Greenville Blvd, US 264, 40 miles east of I-95, Greenville, NC 27858-5713 (Formerly Motel 6)
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Greenville
Price Range: $42 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• We are the only economy hotel on the southeast side of Greenville.• The only pet friendly hotel in Greenville that accepts pets free of charge.• The closest to ECU and the ECU sports stadiums (Only 6 Blocks!)• The closest to Colonial Mall.• The closest economy hotel to the convention center.• Have truck parking.• Feature a huge courtyard that can be used for civic, church or community events.• We're right in the heart of the commercial shopping district, across the street from Waffle House and one block from iHop, with three Starbucks locations within 4 blocks of the hotel, and in front of Overton's sporting goods. There are also three grocery stores within 4 blocks and 6 blocks from Walmart.• Looking for something to do? We are next door to Blades On Ice skating, a short drive from River Park North, and minutes away from three pristine golf courses.There truly is something for every in Greenville, N.C., and we're located right in the heart of it all here at Motel 6. We now offer full cable. Call for extended stay rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Greenville
Motel Six Greenville
Greenville Motel 6
Greenville Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing