We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family style Buffet”

Parkers Barbecue Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 276 Restaurants in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
stafford, va
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family style Buffet”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Parkers is a throwback to 1960s or 70s family restaurants in the south. Stopped in after an ECU baseball game and had the buffet, which is brought to your table family style. It is nice that you can sample a variety of dishes; none were spectacular, none bad. The best were the BBQ, which is solid NC-style pork, and along with the clearly home-made fried chicken and hush puppies; the mac and cheese was above average. The green beans and potatoes were average - not great, not bad. Coleslaw is minced and overly vinegar-y for my taste. The "BBQ Chicken' was oven-cooked, tender and juicy but smothered in a watery sauce of dubious lineage. The brunswick stew was average. And they only take cash.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johncatworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    76
    35
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not all that good!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Others give this restaurant good marks, but I'm not sure why. The dining room is a very large school cafeteria style. The bbq is edible but not great, bbq potato is canned with a little bbq sauce. The brunswick stew is not made like any other I've tried and appears to be made of mostly canned ingredients. For a lunch in eastern nc the place is high: $9.93 for a small bbq plate and tea. Then prepare for the shocker, no cards accepted ATM at the door cost me $3.50 with all the fees just to receive $20.00.
Many other better restaurants around Greenville, I will not be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mount
1 review
“Best Barbecue”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Always great tasting food and fast service. I have eaten here many times and have always enjoyed it. It has the most food for the least price

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good Local Eastern Carolina Q.”
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

This is the real stuff from Eastern Carolina! Country Style buffet brought to your table like being at Grandma's and Grandpa's home back in the day. Make sure you bring cash since they don't accept debit or credit cards.. Great food, service reasonable priced. A local favorite when visiting Greenville for a ECU game or just in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy_Jill_USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merry Hill, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Satisfying Late Lunch”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

First time visiting Greenville, NC after some post Christmas shopping at the Greenville Mall. Stopped at the Parkers on 264 after recommended by local retail personnel. Step up from the usual fast-food stop, but not as time consuming as a full service restaurant. Ordered the BBQ sandwich and 2 pc. fried chicken dinner w/ 3 small sides. With 2 drinks we paid $15.15 and was surprised they didn't accept credit cards. Cash/checks only. The BBQ sandwich was w/ slaw which I believe is the only way to order BBQ and incl. 2 hush puppies (good) /2 corn sticks (dry). The fried chicken was very good with nice crispy seasoned coating and juicy chicken. The sides we chose was the mac-n-cheese (homemade goodness!), Brunswick chicken stew (tomatoe-y) and slaw (too finely chopped w/ too much vinegar for my taste). In spite of some shortcomings the meal was enjoyable. Definitely something better than the burger/fries alternative.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theginster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkers Barbecue Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Parkers Barbecue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing