We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, lousy policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

good hotel, big rooms close to the ECU campus, stadium and everything good in Greenville. The only problem is their cancellation policy. While most hotels will allow same day or 24 hours, they require 72 hours or they charge full rate. That is not the problem.... it's the flexibility of their policy. We have stayed here many times, but this weekend their was hurricane Sandy off the Carolina coast. They wouldn't let people cancel even if it was a safety issue and the state of NC had declared a State of Emergency for the coast. All rational thought has gone out the window on this one. It makes me consider changing back to another hotel out of principal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ECUPirates64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 405 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

As a frequent traveler, I was extremely disappointed at both the service and quality of stay at Best Western. The hotel is infested with COCKROACHES. I was able to catch the 3.5-4 inch cockroach in a glass and bring it to the front desk and I was met with indifference. When the manager called, they felt it only fit to comp me 20% of my stay and said that these type of things happen despite spraying. In my 20 years of travel, this is the first time I have ever encountered this and I will never stay at a Best Western again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frequent_Traveler615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I'm a loyal and avid Hilton guy for business and pleasure but based on the TripAd reviews AND a wonderful experience I had at the Best Western Plus in Dillsboro NC a couple months ago, I was willing to try out this hotel. The location is a bit out of the way but G'ville is a smaller city so nothing seems very far away. Check-in was great. Sierra was a delight. She was very polite and courteous. From there, the experience went downhill. The room just felt sparse and barren, like a cheap hotel. The air was off so it was 81 degrees in the room according to the thermostat. The AC wouldn't cut on when i lowered the temp so I had to go to the window unit and actually turn it on. I set the temp at 71. It took a while to cool but confident that it would, we settled in and fell asleep. Around 4 am, I woke up and found the room to be back at 76 degrees. I need a cold room to sleep and woke up sweating. I could not get the A/C to come back on. After messing around with it, I finally got the fan to work which at least moved the air around but did not cool the room and I basically did not sleep much after that. When I asked at checkout, I was told there is a fail-safe when the air is set for a temperature 10 degrees or more from the actual room temp. Maintenance (she said) would have to come and reset it. Huh? When I got up to shower, I found two 1/2 inch bugs crawling around on the bathroom floor as well as some flying thing that I had to kill. I'm a reasonable guy and the VERY slow internet and few carpet stains in our room would not have caused me to leave a bad review but the a/c and bugs necessitate it. The next time I'm in Greenville, I will trust my instincts and stay at the Hampton.

Room Tip: Stay at the Hampton instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2BEis2SKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for just one night and moved on.
The front desk experience was without issues.
The rooms were very large and fairly clean (I'm fairly picky).
Bed was very comfortable.
Shower had good pressure and decent shower head.
If they don't have a glass door shower (this didn't), at least I do like the outward curving shower curtain rail, which means you don't get the shower curtain touching you.
The breakfast was the usual fare (cheap, poor quality) for this class of hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was, by far, the nicest experience we've had at staying away from home. The staff at the registration desk was very friendly & helpful. We needed to extend our stay for an extra night & everything was handled smoothly. The young lady at the "continental breakfast" was also friendly & helpful w/helping w/the use of the waffle iron, etc. The room was on the first floor fairly close to an exit & the room was very clean & welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I had a downstairs room near the entrance with two beds, a pull-out sofa, several desks, a refrigerater, and a microwave. With two teenage boys, this worked beautifully. There was a fitness center and pool that they loved. I really liked the homey atmosphere and not having to go up several floors and down a long hallway to get to my room. I plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I travel frequently to Eastern North Carolina and am always looking for clean hotels whose accommodations offer good value. During my most recent trip (June, 2012), I followed the recommendations of other TripAdvisor travelers and stayed at the Best Western Suites Hotel in Greenville. I found the rooms to be clean, the breakfast good and the staff very friendly and helpful. I was so impressed that I plan to stay there on my next visit and will recommend it to friends and family.

cruisinpro

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cruisinpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Greenville
Hampton Inn Greenville
#1 of 22 in Greenville
583 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
#6 of 22 in Greenville
176 reviews
4 mi away
Courtyard Greenville
Courtyard Greenville
#7 of 22 in Greenville
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#3 of 22 in Greenville
566 reviews
4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med
3.9 mi away
Residence Inn Greenville
Residence Inn Greenville
#5 of 22 in Greenville
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville

Address: 2310 Greenville Blvd NE, Greenville, NC 27858-4140 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites-Greenville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Greenville
#2 Best Value Hotel in Greenville
#3 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $97 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a memorable stay with the personal touch, reserve your suite with us. Our award-winning hotel offers much more than traditional hotels. We are all suites, all interior rooms - all non smoking and no pets. Our hotel features fine amenities which include a business center, meeting room, hot breakfast with freshly made pancakes, Seattle's Best coffee, whirlpool suites, wi-fi, valet laundry, fitness center, pool, plus in-room refrigerators, microwaves, hair dryers, coffee/tea makers and more. Airport and group shuttle also available - prearranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Greenville Hotel Greenville
Best Western Greenville
Greenville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing