We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Greenville
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Greenville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week while he was there on business. Convenient location for me to walk to things during the day. Updated hotel, clean and spacious. Typical hampton breakfast and cookies. Staff was friendly. Fitness room is updated as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 589 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had to travel to Greenville at the last minute to help my daughter find an apartment. Booked a room at this Hampton Inn based on the TripAdvisor reviews and was very pleased that I did.
We arrived in town earlier than expected and way before check-in, we stopped in just to tell them we were in town and would be back at the appropriate time. The clerk was so sweet and offered to see if a room was available even though we were early. As a matter of fact, all the staff that we came upon during our stay were very friendly and helpful
The lobby and breakfast room were very nice, we always enjoy having the fresh cookies and coffee available upon arrival. Our room was a nice size and very clean with plenty of towels.
They had a Manager Reception that evening catered by a local restaurant but unfortunately we missed it. The breakfast that is offered has a wide selection for being a Continental breakfast and it was very good and filling for a busy day of running around.
I will definitely be back to this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerseygirl8081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My stay at this Hampton Inn was a pleasant surprise. It is far more upscale than what I expect from Hampton. It's adjacent to the Convention Center in Greenville and that may contribute to the upscale from traditional Hampton Inn locations. The lobby is beautiful with all the modern amenities you would expect from a Hilton and not a Hampton. The Decor is elegant in every way. The rooms are truly a pleasant surprise. You truly would not believe you were in a Hampton Inn. That is not to cut the Hampton Inn, but this location is far better than most. This was a most enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: I have no tips. This was a one night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here a few times. I was at the Hilton next door and a colleague told me that this hotel was more relaxed. And indeed it was. It is of course not a Hilton, but is a great place to stay. I liked the small self serve breakfast, general area where you could work all hours and coffee and tea being avb. Rooms have frig and microwave which is great is you are staying longer and would rather make a simple meal in your room than eat out.
They also have manager's nights where local restaurants bring food and drinks so you can sample.

Staff is really friendly and helpful.

Only I will not go back as room maintenance is very poor. Shower heads that are broken, toilet seats that are very loose, shower doors that are almost falling out of the rails and clogged drains. When you complain they will change you room and even give you the night for free. But I do not want a free night...I want to have a room that works the first time.

So back to the Hilton.

Room Tip: Check that everything works before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Veronica17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Friendly welcoming and exiting staff. Clean and inviting lobby, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable. Breafast is typical for a Hampton Inn (begals, toast, oatmeal, fruit, yogert, cereal, waffles). Great place to stay in Greenville.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvmylabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

One of my favorite Hampton's. The decor is beautiful and you get all the cleanliness and comfort of Hampton. The staff went above and beyond for me every visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickey2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We travel to Greenville regularly to visit family. We usually stay at the Wingate, but decided to try the Hampton this time since it also has an indoor pool (our main requirement for our daughter who loves to swim). We were disappointed with this Hampton Inn for a number of reasons.

1. We specifically chose the Hampton for the indoor pool for our 8 year old who loves to swim. We actually forgot her bathing suit and ran to Wal-Mart to buy one our first night in Greenville. We then headed excitedly to the pool, but it was a terrible mess that night. No towels. Dirty. Stuff all over the place. Some teenage girls having a party had left it a mess and no one came to clean it. Myself and another guest actually tried to clean it up a bit so it wouldn't be so gross. But we got into the pool for a few minutes and left because there was lots of hair and a few bugs in the pool. Surprisingly, the next morning the hotel had decided to empty and paint the whirlpool and the smell while they were painting made it impossible to swim in the pool. It was completely unusable for the next two days of our stay. I am not sure why no signs were posted about this taking place and why no one told us at check-in that they had plans to paint the pool this weekend.

2. Being disappointed, we spoke to someone at the front desk who told us the manager was off, but promised us the manager would contact before we checked out the next day. The manager never contacted us. We again stopped at the front desk as we were checking out. The girl at the front went to the back office and returned to say they had to paint the pool this weekend because it was low occupancy. So it was the best weekend for them to do it. We were told we should be happy that at least we got to use it a liitle the first night (when it was dirty with no towels). The manager never came out to talk to us. We explained that had we been told they were painting the pool, we would not have stayed there. The girl at the front then offered to comp us one night.

3. Overall, the service here seemed well below usual Hampton service. One morning at breakfast the waffles were sticking to the waffle maker. The person in front of us was looking for some spray. So we asked the hostess if they had any spray and we were told "I spray it once at the start of breakfast and that's it."

4. I went to print boarding passes at the computers in the lobby but they would not print. No one who worked there seemed to know how to get the printer to work. Finally someone came out and said the printer works terrible all the time...it would take 20 minutes to print a couple of pages. They offered to print them from behind the desk where they have laser printers that work great. My question is why is there a printer that they know doesn't work well in their computer area for guests?

We have stayed at many Hampton inns over the years, but we will not be staying here again...we will be at another hotel. For $120/night in Greenville NC, you can do better.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

I sincerely apologize about the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. While the service and experiences you describe are unjustifiable and will be addressed, I want you to know that we truly do try to do everything possible to make sure situations like this do not occur. No guest should ever feel unwelcomed or that their issues are unvalued.

We strive to go above and beyond to ensure guest expectations are not just met, but exceeded. Taking the time out of your day to give us feedback, whether it be positive or negative, means the world to us and is the key to our success here at the Hampton.

We have invoked the Hampton 100% Satisfaction Guarantee for your entire stay to apologize for your disappointments. If you have any further questions, comments, suggestions or think of anything we can do to make you want to try us again, we would love to hear more from you.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Warm Regards,

Jennifer Haskell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Greenville
Hilton Greenville
#2 of 22 in Greenville
578 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Greenville
Holiday Inn Greenville
#6 of 22 in Greenville
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Residence Inn Greenville
Residence Inn Greenville
#5 of 22 in Greenville
150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard Greenville
Courtyard Greenville
#7 of 22 in Greenville
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greenville
Wingate by Wyndham Greenville
#17 of 22 in Greenville
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Greenville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Greenville

Address: 305 SW Greenville Blvd, Greenville, NC 27834-6909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Greenville
#1 Family Hotel in Greenville
Price Range: $132 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Greenville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Breakfast served every day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Greenville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Greenville Hotel Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing