We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They need to do maintenance and retrain the front desk people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Greenville
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They need to do maintenance and retrain the front desk people”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not very happy with this hotel. I didn't hold high standards because it is a 2 star hotel but some things should not be an issue. Our room was clean. A little small but suitable, we only needed a clean place to stay. Our friend's room on the other hand made me rethink ever coming back again. They had a major leak in their room's ceiling and you could see where it had been previously patched. Looks like the AC in the room above has a leak and they are not fixing it. She tried to call downstairs and the room's phone didn't work. Breakfast consisted of all breads - waffles, cereal, muffins, and bagels. Some fruit, yogurt, and parfaits. Bagels were stale. My biggest complaint though after the room was the staff behind the desk. The weekend we stayed there was a college sports team there and they were out of control. I understand you cannot control or pick your guests but you do need to control the situation. These boys were out in the parking lot in the middle of the night shooting off fireworks. They were even aiming roman candles at each other. This is illegal in NC and should have been stopped. Especially when they are doing it in the parking lot surrounded by guests vehicles and close to the hotel itself. This was going on at 11PM and then again at 3:15AM. The next morning the girl behind the counter was saying how "she didn't hear a thing". How could you not hear firecrackers? The building is not that big. Also our friend checked out earlier then us and complained about her room and asked for a refund of at least one night for all of it. I guess the girl (blonde hair) did not realize we knew her and she is complaining to us about our friend. How unprofessional is that? The only saving grace was the maids who without any word from us were apologizing for all the noise the night before. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nygrl4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGreenville, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear nygrl4evr,

I want to first thank you for your time to complete this review on Tripadvisor about your experience and our hotel. I want to apologize for the experience you had during your stay at our Microtel Inn & Suites Greenville NC with the sports group being loud to late hours. I want to let you know your feedback is very important to us and will be share with our staff. I sincerely appreciated your time and detail comments.

Jose Morales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    262
    153
    88
    49
See reviews for
367
86
96
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Across the street from the hospital complex in Greenville, the Microtel and its front desk management and staff made our stay as comfortable, convenient and relaxing as possible during an otherwise highly stressful week for us due to a family member being in the hospital. As someone who has stayed at posher hotels around the world, I can say that the attention to every little detail at the Microtel exceeds that at many better known five stars worldwide. Breakfast is basic but reliable, the bathroom was exceptionally clean as was the room. The wifi was always available. Plus, in contrast to many hotels in the Greenville area which are located on busy streets, this one is in a pretty quiet area. The value was exceptional and our stay ended happily with our family member discharged and heading home with us. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluejay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGreenville, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Bluejay21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad we meet and exceed your expectations. We are very thankfull for your detail comments about your experience at our hotel and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The receptionist was wonderful & friendly. The room itself was a good size, but the furniture seemed a little cheap and it didn't seem spotless, although clean. There were a couple people standing outside throughout the evening that made me nervous. When we first got there, we parked far from entrance and had to walk past them, so when we came back from dinner I moved closer to the front entrance. I'm not usually scared by strangers, but these guys made me nervous. The excercise room only had a couple pieces of equipment but no one was using them, so it wasn't a problem using one. The continental breakfast was good, but the place was crowded and we couldn't get up to counter to get food. Not far to drive to restaurants or stores. It was fine for a one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_McSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelGreenville, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear The_McSmiths,

Thank you so much for your comment and evaluation about out property. I do apologize about your experience on your arrival to our hotel. Please note that your comments are important and it is our goal to have a safe environment. Again thank very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenville hotels
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Suites-Greenville
3.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Greenville
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Greenville
Residence Inn Greenville
#5 of 22 in Greenville
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Greenville
Wingate by Wyndham Greenville
#16 of 22 in Greenville
477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Greenville
Candlewood Suites Greenville
#10 of 22 in Greenville
91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Affordable Suites of America, Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med
Address: 450 Moye Blvd, Greenville, NC 27834-2886
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Greenville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Greenville
#5 Family Hotel in Greenville
#5 Business Hotel in Greenville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Greenville/University Med reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites University Medical Park Hotel Greenville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing