We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Eastern NC BBQ”

Parkers Barbecue Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 272 Restaurants in Greenville
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Eastern NC BBQ”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Parker's is an experience that everyone who has ever been there wants to return to! Locals return time and time again. Those of us that grew up there make it a must to stop in when we return. And visitors who are taken there crave to visit again when they come back to Greenville.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LewieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winterville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love me some Parkers . . . . . . .”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great bbq and sides! Great service and prices. Love the Brunswick Stew. They also have seafood and the hushpuppies are the best in town!!! And if you love bbq chicken, theirs has a sweet red sauce. But my favorite is the bbq sandwich with slaw with a side of fries, some kind of good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't get better than this”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Traditional eastern style BBQ. Definitely local place where true southerners eat. Don't expect anything fancy...just good food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddiep63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You would be better eating dog/cat food!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was told you can't come to Greenville and not stop at Parkers BBQ....they lied. The food was tasteless. The shredded BBQ looked more like cat food. The BBQ chicken was broiled then had sauce poured over the top. It was obvious the green beans were of the canned variety. The hushpuppies had absolutely no seasoning not even pepper same goes for the mac n cheese. They were utterly tasteless! Was also served something called a "corn stick" but again it was tasteless and I couldnt find any corn inside.

Worst of all at checkout is when we were told that they do no accept any type of check card only cash or CHECK. In this day and age who doesnt accept credit cards and why is there no signage stating this fact. We were pointed towards the ATM machine located at the front door, which comes with a $1 usage fee...great but my bank charges $5. So in total you would have me pay $16 for food that taste worst than something I could have gotten at a fast food restuarant. Funny thing when asked our waiter informed us that neither herself or her family eats there because the food is of such low quality. If your own wait staff refuses to eat your food, why would I! This leads me to wonder exactly what she witnesses in the kitchen. I left Parker's sick to my stomach and pissed off at the poor quality of food.

Only upside: waiteress was friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunterdon county
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greenville - eat where the locals do !”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

What a blast - nothing like it unless you go to Chandlers in Knoxville Tn. Parkers is great! Where else can you order home cooked bad for your heart good ole grandma cooking without feeling bad ?""No where but here"" ( and Chandlers in TN) The ladies behind the counter were fun and I told them to surprise me with my side orders ( that come with the meal ) and they picked a great choice.4 of us came for a visit because everyone said we had to go ! Wonderful and our meal was super ,hot and fresh! Packed with locals so you know its good. Hot sauce and BBQ on tables.
Real charm!! Stuffed all day long and the prices were great! We will make this a permanent stop while visiting the ECU Pirates!!!Forget all the other chains on the Blvd ,get over to Parkers!!!
Wish they sold postcards!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parkers Barbecue Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Parkers Barbecue Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing