We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reminded me of Paris” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlight Cafe

Starlight Cafe
Ranked #19 of 269 Restaurants in Greenville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Charles Town, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Reminded me of Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I just had brunch and although our waitress seemed to be overworked ( just like most of the Parisian cafes we visited a couple of weeks back) we both enjoyed our meal. We plan on returning for dinner in the next couple of days.
If you compare pricing to the standard restaurants, it might seem a little high but this is not a run of the mill breakfast joint!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Garry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    43
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is, by far, my favorite restaurant. They serve local foods, many of which are grown at their own farm. The friendly and knowledgeable staff are always able to answer any questions and suggest wine to accompany your meal. The atmosphere is sophisticated without being stuffy. The ever changing menu, featuring seasonal fruits and veggies, is always exciting and fresh. Do not come to Greenville without visiting Starlight!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahjayneedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Being from out of town the Starlight Cafe was recommended to us by someone who lives in the area and we were not disappointed. We ate there last week and found the food choice to be extensive and very fresh. We had the Shrimp & Grits and pork tenderloin, both were delicious. Very nice wine list. Overall an enjoyable evening and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francie110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Overpriced...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is one of the few "fancy" places in Greenville. I personally think the food was overpriced and wasn't really anything special. They have wine night and white tablecloths, which I guess adds to it's appeal--but I went once and never returned.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank uncwmel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Fine Dining, Use Local Ingredients”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Starlight Cafe uses local beef, seafood and vegetables on lunch and dinner menus. Finer dining than most places in Greenville. Lunch prices are reasonable, $8-$12. Dinner $20-$30 average. I've always got my moneys worth! Change the menu around every few months...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starlight Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing