We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Inspiring geodesic hideaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Grassy Creek, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David M
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspiring geodesic hideaway”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in this Geodesic dome home for a weekend in June, the dome is extremely spacious and comfortable for 4. located on ~40 acres with a lake and walking trails which are great for kids. the land well maintained, the yard appear to be manicured.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dlcole
Apex, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great property, very private, might not work for everyone”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

"Unforgettable" is an apt name for this property. It's a 70's-era geodesic dome, set on 40+ acres, part of which is a working Christmas tree farm. My wife and I stayed here July 19-22, 2013, and had a great time.

The property is just off Highway 16, about 11 miles north of Jefferson. It's easy to get to, and in this case GPS was accurate. West Jefferson is less than 20 minutes away, the New River is less than 15, and Grayson Highlands State park in Virginia is about 30 minutes away (awesome park with great hiking). For us this was a convenient location.

The driveway is about 1/4 mile long, and there's a locked gate about a third of the way up. The key box is by the gate, and you re-lock the gate as you go through, giving pretty much complete privacy (this becomes important later). Below the house is a pond with chairs, a picnic table, a swing, a rocking bench, and a fire pit with firewood. At the house is another swing and picnic table, and a very nice hot tub. Beyond the hot tub is yet another picnic table and rocking bench, out by the Christmas trees. We had at least one meal outside every day, and that really added to the experience.

The house has good cell phone reception (with Verizon) and wifi, but not particularly fast. The appliances were all in good working order, including the washer and dryer. It has satellite TV, 'tho we didn't use it. There are a good supply of current magazines, as well as games and puzzles. The beds were quite comfortable. The dome itself is fascinating. There are lots of windows, and natural lighting is good.

If you're thinking of renting, here's some things you should know:

The house is listed as two bedrooms, but the upper story is really just a loft. There's a movable divider that can separate where the queen bed is from where the double and single beds are. Because this is a dome, all the sound is reflected, so while you might have visual privacy between the bedrooms, you would certainly not have audible privacy.

And because the house is a dome, the walls aren't flat, and thus there aren't any curtains on the windows, including the window across from the shower in the bathroom. My wife said she felt kind of exposed there, and I thought, "Exposed to what? There's nothing out there." (Remember, I said the privacy would be important.)

The queen bed has a large window right over it, which makes thunderstorms, well, interesting, but also means the house becomes bright shortly after sunrise.

The house does show its age in places. For example, there are water stains in places, and the wooden floors are worn in places, but I felt that added to the charm.

This is a property that would work well for some folks and not so well for others. I'd recommend Unforgettable to adventuresome couples who enjoy something different. We certainly enjoyed our stay and hope we can return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The setting, the dome itself, and the privacy
Liked least: Not enough lights to read in bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewed March 26, 2010 for a stay in July 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Surroundings/hot tub
Liked least: The little observatory at the top. scary small
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Carolina
Reviewed March 25, 2010 for a stay in August 2007
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NC
Reviewed March 25, 2010 for a stay in June 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Unique architecture
Liked least: No separate living area
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia
Reviewed March 25, 2010 for a stay in August 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing